We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Great Northern Road, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6B 4Z8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay More, Save More!
Ranked #12 of 23 hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
detroit
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This place is beyond long-in-the-tooth. Outdated and dirty. The setup is the rooms surround a courtyard which means a few picnic tables for smokers to sit at 5 feet from your "window". The place is smelly like mold and the carpet is dark and filthy. The bedspread had stains on it and the bathroom floor had hairs all over it. I would avoid.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilyn R, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your comments, however, could this possibly be for the Comfort Inn in Sault Ste. Marie Michigan. You mentioned a courtyard surrounded by rooms with some picnic tables. We do not have such a layout here at Comfort Inn in Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario, however, Comfort Inn Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan does.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    19
    6
    8
    2
See reviews for
9
19
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zeeland, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed two nights here for our Agawa Canyon Tour Train trip. The Comfort Inn is priced fairly and very clean. We stayed on the second floor but the motel had no elevators which made it difficult with senior citizens carrying large suitcases. Plenty of free parking in a safe parking lot. Little traffic noise on the back side of the motel off the streetside. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor and save your backs hauling suitcases up the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed at this hotel as my usual Comfort Suites & Fairfield were both booked. I checked in more than an hour after the official check in time and was told that my room was not ready. Really? The staff was good with switching my room, verifying that it would be available for each night of my stay. The room was adequate with very uncomfortable beds and pillows. I find that some Comfort Inns are great and some are not, it's kind of a crapshoot sometimes. The "high- speed internet access" was non-existent in my room unless I sat at my door.

I wouldn't stay here again unless nothing else was available.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The hotel was really busy but I lucked out and got a room in the tower. A living area and separate bed area. It was clean ( soap was missing, I could have asked for it but I had some in my pack) and big. I was able to have a meeting with colleagues with no problem of space. The sleep was great and the restaurant Quattro was a great place to hang and drink. The staff were very kind and helpful. I have nothing to bad about this place. It always amazes me when the budget brand hotes shine so brightly.

Room Tip: Ask for a newer room in the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We love Linda. She made us feel as if we were at home, eventhough that was the first time we met her. Great nights stay. Very easy to find. Right off the highway as you are coming into the city from the west.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This is one of the best comfort inns I have stayed in. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the rooms were sparkling clean. We had our two dogs with and usually you get the worst rooms when you have pets. We had a big gorgeous clean room. I would definitely sty here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I was staying in Sault Ste Marie for a full week of business and The Comfort Inn was great.
If you are looking for luxury then this isn't the place... but if you want great service you shoud make a reservation if you are staying overnight.
The front desk staff was always cheerful and more than willing to help with whatever you needed. I walked in to smiles with a genuine friendly greeting each and every time.
You have to go and see Judy in the breakfast room. Its impossible to be in a bad mood after you spend 5 minutes in there. She makes sure everything is full, clean, and chats with everyone that comes in and out... If you are really lucky she sings a bit, just to make you smile. Judy is a true gem.
My room was clean and comfortable, but its the people that make this hotel great.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are bigger...with a few more creature comforts
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 333 Great Northern Road, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6B 4Z8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Canada, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Comfort Inn Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.