We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay on a long journey!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   360 Great Northern Road, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6B 4Z7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
“Perfect place to stay on a long journey!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I had a long day of travelling; just looking foward to getting home, and I was delayed. I had to book a place to stay last minute, and a fellow traveller recommended the Water Tower Inn & Suites. The booking was simple and affordable, and, upon arrival, the front staff and manager were friendly, warm, and very helpful. My room was well appointed, the bathroom stellar and had a jacuzzi tub, and the room was nice and quiet even though the floor was near full occupancy. I understand they had renovated recently and it looked new and the whole facility was clean and well kept. Casey's staff at the restaurant were helpful, yet not overbearing, and the food and drinks great. I soaked in the tub before bed, enjoyed the chocolates left on the bedside table, and had a terrific sleep. The morning staff were just as pleasant. I've recommended it to a number of coworkers who travel through the Sault (Sue), and those who had been there before said it's always been an excellent experience. Warmth and charm meet you and send you on your way. It's perfect for anyone looking to shop too - lots of options directly across the street and near by. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for the jacuzzi tub - excellent way to unwind after a long day of travelling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Marketing Co-ordinator at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
I'm so glad our "warmth and charm" exceeded your expectations and made your experience here at the Inn so wonderful! I noticed you provide some very wonderful tips in your review...may I suggest another? Perhaps you were not afforded enough time during your impromptu stay, but seeing as you're a fan of our jacuzzi tubs, I would suggest you try to find some time to relax in our water-spa, Club Cabana Aqua Spa next time you're in town...the indoor and outdoor hot tubs are both extra deep and extremely soothing. Safe travels and return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    59
    34
    9
    2
See reviews for
69
67
17
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The title kind of says it all. The rooms are great, but you should also know there is a fantastic restaurant called Casey's Grill.Bar where you should absolutely order the salmon. Wow! They also have a pool facility that is more spa-like than what you might expect at a hotel. Very nice. You can also rent a bike during your stay, which is an absolutely great idea.

We happened to stay here during the Algoma Fall Fest, which offered up a performace of Nova Scotia's Beaton Sisters right down the hall from the lobby. Talk about convenient!!

Room Tip: I'm not sure all their rooms are quite good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Marketing Co-ordinator at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
The Beaton Sisters are fantastic performers, and what luck for your visit to coincide with their show! I'm glad you were able to fully enjoy all of the Inn's various amenities including the delicious food in Casey's Grill.Bar. As you said, bike rentals are available for our guests, and there's really no better way to explore the Sault's many attractions than under your own pedal power.

Just a tip: The Algoma Fall Festival runs every year (just celebrated it's 40th) from roughly the beginning to the end of October. The many musical and theatrical performances are always superb! Look for the 2013 line-up on the Festival's website in the Summer and perhaps you'll find another show you might want to see.

Thank you kindly for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Restaurants great. Pool area great.
Jacuzzi and sauna great. Views great. Fireplaces great. Receptionists very helpful.

We were disappointed though to see NO colourful leaves on the Algoma gorge train trip. Only snow!! In october!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Marketing Co-ordinator at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Ah, such is the unpredictability of a Northern Ontario fall. While incredibly colourful and beautiful, it is brief...Mother Nature can sure be temperamental! Alas, on the brighter side of things, it seems you were not only able to enjoy the first snowfall of the year, but the first "Snow Train" ride!

Joking and less-than-enjoyable weather aside, it seems your recent visit to the Inn can be summed up in one word..."great". And we think that is just great! We surely hope you will return for another great visit...and perhaps actually catch the splendid fall colours of the North (they really are something special!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

on October 1st we stayed for two nights at the Tower Inn
in order to go aboard the Agawa train tour.
The Inn and the staff were great.....from the front desk , to the restaurant Casey's.
we totally enjoyed the room and facilities. every thing was well maintained.
Thankyou

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Marketing Co-ordinator at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Merci de votre revue excéllente. While Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites boasts many distinctive amenities (two dining facilities, an aqua spa, fitness centre, the McGuffin Art Gallery, etc), our excellent staff are our shining glory. Skilled and professional, our team members genuinely care about our guests and their experience while staying at the Inn. I'm pleased you enjoyed your personal experience and a great trip to the Agawa Canyon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Booked package via the visitor center was a great stay for the train ride. Breakfast was included with our package and the food was quick and hearty and we saw several others we were on the train with eating at our restaurant because they did not get breakfast with their stay. Hotel was clean and staff was very accommodating and professional. There was a hot tub sauna and pool which we used to unwind after our train ride. We also received a $10 casino cash and we used it to return with some cash on the way home. Recommend this is a great place to stay for the value and the location.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Marketing Co-ordinator at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
The Fall colours must have been splendid on your train ride! You picked a great time of year to visit the Sault. I'm glad you were able to relax and fully enjoy the Inn's many value-added amenities during your stay. Thank you for the review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Great experience. We were looking for a train adventure in Canada and Algoma's 2 day train package fit the bill. The staff was pleasant and helpful. Our room was clean and very comfortable. The hotel packed lunch was a better value than what was offered on the train. We were awarded with a fresh fallen snow on the already beautiful colorful trees on the train trip. We were very happy with our stay at this hotel. All in all the experience was by far romantic and very restful. Our breakfast at Casy's was excellent. The hotel staff was also helpful in directing us to other restaurants in the area. Boston's Pizza was great. We left with a good memory of this hotel and the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Fifth floor quiet and great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Manager at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
That unexpected five inches of snow got us on the national news that night, but yes, it would have looked fantastic on the red maples leaves. We are so pleased you had a fantastic experience. You mention “romantic” so am jumping to the conclusion this might have been a special occasion. The Agawa Canyon Fall Colour Train Tour was a good choice, and we are so glad you had such a positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Had an awful experience here and at their stretched bar Casey's. Still unclear why it was more expensive than other area hotels as it is nothing special. My door didn't close all the way, the bathroom was chinsy, and when I complained vehemently the next day about the poor service in the bar all the staff did was hand me a comment card....so here's my comment: terrible!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Manager at Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
We’re sorry to hear you did not enjoy the Inn. You also commented on our restaurant, and from the wording, we have noted that it must have been the Water Tower Pub, not Casey’s Grill.Bar, that you visited. Which of course makes no difference otherwise. You felt you received poor service and we are sincerely sorry for that. Since you have subsequently sent us the date of your visit, we can now discuss this issue with the staff involved. Thank you for keeping us on our toes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites

Address: 360 Great Northern Road, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6B 4Z7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#3 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#8 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A full-service Inn with 176 rooms and suites, Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites was completely renovated in 2010. Our professional and personable hospitality style is experienced throughout our comfortable Inn. Under one roof, you'll find Casey's Grill.Bar, the Water Tower Pub (live music Wed. To Sat.), Club Cabana Aqua Spa with the Sault's only 4-season outdoor whirlpool, Tempospa Health & Fitness, The Pavilion Conference and Event Centre, and the McGuffin Gallery. Located at the cross-roads of Sault Ste. Marie, there are many shops and restaurants nearby, plus ample parking (perfect for those with bigger rigs). If you're on an outdoor adventure, we offer free secured storage for motorcycles, ATVs, snowmobiles and outdoor equipment such as kayaks. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algoma`s Water Tower Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Algoma`s Water Tower Inn And Suites
Algomas Water Hotel
Hotel Algomas Water
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.