We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant alternative” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Northlander Motel

Northlander Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Northlander Motel to your Saves list
Northlander Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   243 Great Northern Road, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6B 4Z2 , Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Eastern Ontario
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A pleasant alternative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We were travelling unawares on the big fall leaf viewing weekend without reservations. We stopped at a few hotels but they were completely booked. One of the rival hotel receptionists sent us to The Northlander with the comment that it was small but clean. We were very pleased: clean room, large room, spacious bathroom. Amenities such as a refrigerator and microwave. We only stayed one night as we were en route to other locations but my thought was that a small family could use that room for a few days in utmost comfort.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
6
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Nice bed/shower!!! If you are looking for a basic place to stay for one night or two, here is it! We stayed here for two nights and we had no complain.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Beds were comfortable, clean and spacious rooms. Decent price as well. As we are travelling across the country, this motel was our fave so far. The price was right!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yigo, Mariana Islands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We arrived late and left early but it was a very nice motel to get some sleep. It was very clean a apacious.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Very clean rooms, nice bed/shower. Was able to check in after midnight. Great rate will stay again

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

In city call some motels for rate and find this one with good rate and comfy with two queen size bed for 59.99

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

We needed a place to stay before leaving Canada for the US and a friend recommended this. It wasn't too bad, but not posh by any means. Friendly owners, reasonable rate $66 for one night HST included, senior rate, no frills, pool or brekkie.
no noise in nihgt despite being on a main road.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron W, Front Office Manager at Northlander Motel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank You for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Northlander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northlander Motel

Address: 243 Great Northern Road, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6B 4Z2 , Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Northlander Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Northlander Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northlander Motel Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northlander Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.