We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So bad, it's funny” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chipican Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Chipican Motel to your Saves list
Chipican Motel
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   1144 Christina St N, Sarnia, Ontario ON N7V 3C3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Sarnia
Kitchener
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So bad, it's funny”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2008

Not consulting Trip Advisor before we booked this motel was our first mistake. Upon arriving, we were verbally harassed by another person staying at the motel, and should have left right then and there. Since Bayfest is the busiest time of the year, all the other hotels in the area were sold out. The person at the desk charged us more money then they quoted online, and we tried to refund the room, and they wouldn't let us.

Once we saw the condition of the rooms we understood why.... It was the most disgusting room I have ever BEEN in, nevermind slept in. The walls were 70s velvet red wallpaper, the capet was stained and had not been vaccumed in a very long time. The beds were disgusting, and my sheet actually had a knife shaped hole in it. Needless to say, I slept on top of the blankets and kept my shoes on at all times. The next day I wanted to take a shower, and was blown away by the moonsoon that the shower pressure created. I definitely didn't expect that first thing in the morning. The shower pressure was so high, I could barely even stand it. We asked the manager for more towels and we never got them... not that I expected to actually get them anyways.

The second night there was a thunderstorm, and our power continually shut on and off for about an hour, and we thought we were going to die. We felt like we were in a horror movie, and that someone was going to break into our room at any second. Not to mention the lock on our door wasn't secure at all.

The third day we met some of the other people who were also duped into staying at the Chipican, and made some friends through our shared hate for this hotel.

The whole experience was really quite comical because the Chipican's slogan on the front says "Comfortable, Affordable and Quality" which was quite ironic considering it wasn't any of those things.

  • Liked — I enjoyed waving goodbye as I drove away
  • Disliked — Staying there.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    5
    0
    17
See reviews for
Families
0
6
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2008

I enjoyed staying at the Chipican Motel. The rooms are clean, service is excellent. Very decent rates. Management & staff are nice people & friendly, and friendliness goes a long way with customers.

  • Liked — Location and Decent Rates
  • Disliked — No Swimming Pool
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2007

Comparing to the rent we paid the motel room was decent and above our expectation. It was comfortable, clean and very quiet. Next door restaurant meal was very delicious. We were visiting some of our relatives during Christmas holidays and next time again it will be our place of stay for sure.

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2006

This place is absolutely disgusting. We walked into the room, turned on the light, and saw nothing but filth. One bed was messed up, there was dust covering all furniture, what seemed to be blood stains all over the back of the door. The bathroom was the grossest thing I've ever seen -- black mold/mildew growing in the shower, toilet stained brown. The air conditioning unit was duct taped into the window, the "wonderful" fridge & microwave dated back to the 80's.. Stains on the carpets, cigarette burns in the sheets, garbage in the drawers.. It was as though someone had just come in, made the beds, and the room was abandoned for a number of years.

Front desk staff was not polite or courteous in any way. We were stuck with a prepaid reservation and nowhere else to go at 3am. Not worth the money, however cheap the rates may be.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — EVERYTHING.
  • Tips/Secrets — don't come!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london ontario
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2006

I usually go to sarnia at least once every month for my business trip and always stay at this motel. The reasons are, quite and nice location, lowest price in town, big and fairly clean rooms. The best part is it is located right across a beautiful park which is my favorite place in whole town and I always like to walk in that after supper in the next door restaurant.

  • Liked — location and low rates
  • Disliked — older look
  • Tips/Secrets — If you staying longer like a week they have special deals
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2006

This place is the kind of place you would drive by and wonder "who would stay there" Room rentals very cheap by the week.
Curtains are dirty and hanging off the windows. The restaurant next door is a good cheap steak place (different owners) but the hotel needs to be gutted

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2006

I stayed at this motel for a night during the Bayfest weekend. Their rooms were fine, not too fancy and luxurious. The room I had, had all the basic necessities I required and I found it to be a decent enough place to stay peacefully at for the night, with a pretty reasonable price.

When I went there the motel was almost fully booked, but the staff did a good job of keeping it very quiet during the night time. My room had everything they said, though I really had no use for the mini-fridge or microwave, because I dined at the next door Chipican Restaurant. I strongly recommend that restaurant to anyone who has the chance of stopping by there. They truly served some of the best steaks I've ever had.

I read some of the other reviews from some of the other travelers here, and I think some of them simply had different expectations than I had, or were simply impossible to please, complaining about every little thing.

Everything is nearby this motel's location, and I'd probably stay there again, especially for rate I recieved.

  • Liked — Chipican Restaurant
  • Disliked — Bayfest was a bit of a bore
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chipican Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chipican Motel

Address: 1144 Christina St N, Sarnia, Ontario ON N7V 3C3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Sarnia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Sarnia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Chipican Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chipican Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chipican Hotel Sarnia
Chipican Motel Sarnia, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chipican Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.