We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Park for Families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canatara Park

Canatara Park
1200 Lake Chipigan Drive, Sarnia, Ontario N7T 7N2, Canada
519-332-0330
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 18 Attractions in Sarnia
Type: Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Oakland, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Park for Families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We visited this park recently and found it to be really nice. The beach was clean, the bathroom facilities were clean and the children's farm was cute. While at the beach, we got to see some boat races which was fun to watch. The part of the beach that we stopped at was manned by lifeguards, but there were spots you could go where there weren't any on duty. There was no fee to enter the park or the farm. Overall, I would definitely visit again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    17
    3
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice Place for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We have visited this park for years every time we come to this part of Ontario. The Animal Farm is free and appeals to all ages of kids and adults. I have pictures of my children here from pre-school up to teenagers. The beaches on Lake Huron are really pretty and wonderful for families. Bathroom facilities are available as well as areas for picnics. Fond memories of this lovely area.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Animal Farm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lovely place to visit in Sarnia - you should take the kids to the animal farm which is free to visit (covenant prevents charges). A walk through the picturesque parkland leads to the delightful beaches of Lake Huron. Great place to spend a summer's day and equally spectacular after a winter snowfall.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia ON
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“What a nice slice of peace and tranquility!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Looking for a quiet place, a relaxing walk, a taste of nature?? Canatara Park - although not very big, is a great place to go to!

I love walking through the trail and bike paths - listening to nature, the smells of Fall, the excitement of summer at the Park and the sounds of children having fun at Canatara Beach! Great place to spend a day or a Saturday afternoon.

Wonderful place to stretch your legs - get some exercice - or just to let your mind wander and relax! Come see what is in Sarnia's back yard!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canatara Park also viewed

 

Been to Canatara Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canatara Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.