We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely The Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gables Inn

Save Saved
You added The Gables Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gables Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   1625 London Line, Sarnia, Ontario N7W 1A9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Sarnia B&B and Inns
Sarnia, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

The friendliness of the staff and the quality of the service, has made it my new "home away from home"--A true pleasure!

Daniel Lynch, - Boston Painting

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGablesInn, Owner at The Gables Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Thank you Daniel for this wonderful review on tripadvisor. We always enjoy ensuring each of our guest expectations are met. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to all of our upcoming renovations and hope to have the opportunity to share all of the new changes with you again.
Thank you for choosing and recommending the Knights Inn - Sarnia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
4
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

We came from Toronto to visit some friends in the Sarnia area and stayed at the Knights Inn. The room was great. We had stayed a few nights in one of the kitchen units. Very well equipped. The room was newly renovated and had everything we needed. The room service was also very good. The place also offered free highspeed internet connection and breakfast. Would recommend staying here for anyone looking for a nice place to stay at an affordable rate.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

This has been renamed Knights Inn. Knights Inn chain should be ashamed of themselves. Filthy door mat met us at the door. TV didn't work. Internet didn't work. Beds as hard as a slab of cement. Stained comforter. I think they sprayed the room with something as I (and my daughter) had a hard time breathing. No dead bolt on door just a flimsy door lock. Looks like the dead bolt was removed with a crowbar from the inside. I felt unsafe in this hotel. Furniture looks like it came from the dump. The proprietors seem very suspicious and not friendly at all. Do yourself a favour, spend a few more bucks and stay somewhere safe.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGablesInn, Owner at The Gables Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2011
Dear Mrs. June, I thank you for your feedback and I am truly sorry and to be honest, a bit surprised by the multitude of issues that you and your daughter experienced at our motel. As we take pride in our overall service, cleanliness and genuine friendliness with all our guests, I want to personally apologize for all the inconveniences you experienced during your stay here.

As we take all of these issues very seriously, I would like to make you and the readers aware of our ongoing committment to improve on these areas. Although we do make every effort to address the issues you have presented, I was on site the entire weekend, including checkout, and was never made aware, or given the opportunity to correct your problems.

Regarding your isssues with the Internet connectivity, I would like to make you aware that we provide Internet through Ethernet cable and had you made us aware that you were planning to use the Internet we would have provided you with an Ethernet cable to do so.

Regarding your complaint about the TV not working, it was just not plugged in properly. One thing I did find strange was that no other customers had made a comment regarding the "safety" of the rooms as the deadbolts and locks are just fine and in working order.

I apologize for the lenthy response but would sincerely appreciate an opportunity to discuss and rectify your overall impression and experience with us.

Thanks,

General Manager,

Knights Inn Sarnia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Inn

Address: 1625 London Line, Sarnia, Ontario N7W 1A9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Sarnia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sarnia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Gables Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CAA & AAA approved facility. Ample parking for trucks and RV's. Clean, well maintained recently updated facility for individuals or families. All of our large modern rooms have a fridge and microwave cable TV, and free instant coffee. Free hi-speed Internet connection available in all rooms. Some rooms have fully equipped kitchenettes. Children's playground, outdoor pool. gazebo and BBQ/picnic area. We offer group rates, senior rates and corporate rates. We offer discounts for CAA/AAA members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Inn Sarnia, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gables Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.