We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Super 8” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 - Sarnia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 - Sarnia to your Saves list
Super 8 - Sarnia
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   420 N. Christina St., Sarnia, Ontario N7T 5W1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Sarnia
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Typical Super 8”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

Staff as great, facilities were typical for the chain. Location was a $12 cab ride from the train station.
I was arriving late by train and called ahead to ask if that was a problem and ask that my room be on the 2nd floor. No problem with either request but the second floor has some smoking rooms so they were kind enough to put me in the non-smoking room the furthest from the smokers and I couldn't smell a thing once in my room.
Breakfast in the morning was also the usual. Check out was fast and easy.
There's a McDonald's right across the street and a restaurant downstairs (no time to try the restaurant).

Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    45
    34
    14
    16
See reviews for
38
25
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tillsonburg
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

We made our reservations by telephone, after reading the reviews. We arrived to a warm welcome , by friendly staff, in an inviting lobby, where tea and coffee was available. Our our room was ready, clean, cozy and inviting. The bed was clean, the linen crisp, the bathroom well equipped with necessities and the room large and comfortable, with extra table with 2 chairs, a fridge, and a coffee maker, in addition to the rather standard TV only.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

We rented two rooms for 1 night. We were told check in was at 2pm, when we arrived at 2:15 we were told that the rooms were not ready. They had a full house the night before and had just started to clean the second floor where our rooms were and that they needed 1 hour to clean it. My friend informed the front desk clerk that we had out of town guests meeting us at 3 pm and she assured us that the room would be ready. We went out for a late lunch and returned at 3:15. We went directly to the rooms only to see that ALL of the rooms were open and there were three ladies cleaning. Wehen we asked when our room would be ready they told us they had just started cleaning and it would be at least 1 hour. She was very upset that we hadn't checked with the front desk and that the front desk hadn't informed them that we were coming. From what we could see, they stripped one bed in every room, then washed the toilet in every room etc - didn't clean it one room at a time like most other hotels do! So off we went to the lobby to sit in the only two chairs available - we mentioned the delay to the clerk and she brushed it off as "oh well - I at least it is a nice day out". So over an hour later, our guest started to arrive, no one informed us of the rooms being ready - we just kept checking in. Once we got in the rooms were clean - other than the carpet which had not been vaccumed. The rooms were basic, no irons in the rooms, no kleenex, but we weren't expecting much at that point. We did have the continental breakfast in the morning, they ran out of a few things while we were there, and the double toaste could only be used as a single. the front desk clerk said that it shorts out the whole hotel when they use both sides. We had to wait quite a while for toast because of it! If your looking for a cheep room to stay in it would work, but I wouldn't put my family up there!

  • Liked — Price - though after we found other places with reasonable rates that were nicer
  • Disliked — Service - front desk & room service
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2008

We stayed here during the week of bayfest after staying at the Harbourfront Inn for one night.
It definitely is not as nice as the harbourfront (considering their rates were very similar for the bayfest week) but we certainly did not have any complaints.
The staff was curteous and friendly, the room clean and comfortable, and the location was only a few minute walk to Bayfest. The continental breakfast was fresh and good also and we experienced no problems with the free wireless internet.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Price was too high - Gauging for Bayfest
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit, michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2008

My husband and I booked a NS King Suite from Sarnia, ON Super 8 through Best Hotels Network for a $5.oo fee. Between the website and Sarnia Motel 8 they messed up our reservations. Super 8 didn't notify us until the night before we were to arrive that they reserved a Smoking Queen Room instead. Best Hotels Network has not returned our calls for refund and we had to pull teeth for Sarnia Super 8 to even offer us a deal. I wouldn't stay there again. It is too much hassel with a Motel not worth it.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2007

We had to stay in Sarnia for a half marathon in February. This hotel was good in terms of value, location and cleanliness. The staff were very helpful and pleasant at check-in. This is definitely not the place for those used to 5 star hotels, but will suffice if all you need is a clean place to sleep. It is also close to the casino for those who like to gamble (not for me).

  • Liked — Great Value.
  • Disliked — Not Applicable.
  • Stayed February 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2006

Stayed at this motel during a stopover to Toronto. Room was clean and well maintained. Staff were polite and courteous. An additional plus that most hotels/motels would charge for is the wireless connection. Unfortunately, it was down when I stayed but it was advertised explicitly. The only minor complaint I would have is the heater in the room. Seems like the heater didn't generate enough warmth for the room, although this might be personal preference. Fortunately, the night wasn't too cold so it was manageable. Aside from that, the room was very clean. Very pleasant experience, will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 - Sarnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 - Sarnia

Address: 420 N. Christina St., Sarnia, Ontario N7T 5W1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Sarnia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Sarnia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 - Sarnia 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 - Sarnia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - Sarnia Hotel Sarnia
Super 8 - Sarnia Ontario
Super Eight Sarnia
Sarnia Super 8
Sarnia Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 - Sarnia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.