We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not amazing, but did the trick!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 - Sarnia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 - Sarnia to your Saves list
Super 8 - Sarnia
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   420 N. Christina St., Sarnia, Ontario N7T 5W1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Sarnia
Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“not amazing, but did the trick!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

This place wasn't any 8th wonder of the world but it was good enough and the price was right! I think it was $79+tax. The front desk folks were friendly and its right across the road from a McD's haha Not much else to say... it was clean, comfy, a good sleep, but a little dated.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    45
    35
    14
    17
See reviews for
38
26
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Whitby
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

My husband and I stayed for two nights (June 30th & July 1st, 2011). We had our daughter and two chihuahuas with us. The staff were extremely friendly and it appeared that everyone working there loved animals. The only negative is that the carpets were in need of a good cleaning. Otherwise our overall experience was very positive.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

This was our families first experience with a Super 8 Motel and let me say never again. I had booked this hotel for 2 nights on Priceline "Name Your Own Price" and still did not get value for our money. After booking on Priceline, I called the hotel in advance (over 1 month) to ensure we would have a non-smoking room with two beds to acomodate two adults/two children. I was ensured that I would have a suite with a sofa bed and even given a specific room (Room 122). Upon arrival just two hours prior to my sons first lacrosse game, we were informed that our room had been given away to someone staying for an extended period of time. I asked why I had not been informed of this in advance but the clerk had no answers. The clerk informed us there were no other options as the hotel was booked solid. She did offer a cot to be placed in the room so we thought we would give it a try. The room was small and left very little room for movement due to the cot. The quality of the cot was something your would expect to find in a third world country. The bed mattress was worn out and sagging. We all awoke the next day with sore backs. Even though I had payed for the Hotel with Priceline in advance, my family was so tired and miserable that we decided to leave before spending another night. We reported our intensions to the front desk. The clerk was nice enough but offered very little in way of a solution other than she would report this to her manager.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We were staying in Sarnia for a sports event "Canadians Synchro" competition so alot of the hotels were booked. Ended up here..for $109.00 plus tax so $150.00 per night (very pricey for a motel Super 8) but it was clean, and beds (matresses) looked to be brand new. No bed bugs.. yes we did check. Breakfast in lobby a little cramped (only two tables) but you can get a tray and take it back to your room. There was a microwave and coffee pot in room..
The staff were great, very friendly and helpful. Parking not an issue - it is right across the road from a Macdonalds and there is a restaurant attached to the hotel (but we didn't go into it). It was fairly quiet considering I think it was totally booked. Would I stay here again - No, not at that price for what you get.... would rather pay a little more for more comfort more updated room and a pool.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

We booked in as a team for girls silverstick Feb 4-6 2011. It wasn't what we expect at all. The lobby breakfast area only seats four people at once, and with a hockey team of girls we where told by owner on phone we could all have breakfast together before the game.....WRONG WE WERE LIED TO. As for the rooms they were musky smelling...almost like the smell of wet dog...very gross. Housekeeping staff where very rude when we asked for extra items like cots and blankets. The team will never stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

Room was ok for what we paid . Customers are not treated equal i stay in about 10 -15 hotels a year for leisure and business this is not the type of hotel i usually pick i usually stay at the Hilton brand hotels but i did not book this hotel as we were part of a group booking and i would NEVER stay here again the GM was rude and un professional the first night. The second night there was young adults party and being loud a half the night . Breakfast was gross not much to choose from

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

We stayed one Friday night in late September. Noted the area looked a little seedy when we arrived and asked the front desk clerk about any problems in the neighborhood. Were reassured that "everything was good". Woke at 2 AM to loud voices of three obviously drunk men outside our room in the parking lot. Female night manager stepped outside to ask them kindly to tone it down. The drunks got belligerent and started swearing at the manager, and I called the police due to concerns for her safety. Shortly after, one of the men came into the motel and continued a tirade against the female manager, becoming louder and more threatening, literally screaming at her for what he perceived to be a slight that occured sometime in the past. The police finally arrived and tried to calm the guy down. Just before they arrived, other customers had opened their doors to yell at the troublemaker to shut up. It was like a three ring circus. The drunk was so out of control that I was quite fearful. Things finally got quiet again about an hour later, but there was no getting back to sleep for us that night. The day manager was very apologetic when we checked out in the morning but was not able to commit to adjusting our bill for the terrible experience. I was promised a call from the owner which never happened. I would never risk a stay at this motel again!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 - Sarnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 - Sarnia

Address: 420 N. Christina St., Sarnia, Ontario N7T 5W1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Sarnia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Sarnia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 - Sarnia 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 - Sarnia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - Sarnia Hotel Sarnia
Super 8 - Sarnia Ontario
Super Eight Sarnia
Sarnia Super 8
Sarnia Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 - Sarnia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.