We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would come back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Guildwood Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Guildwood Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Guildwood Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Venetian Boulevard, Sarnia, Ontario N7T 7W6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Sarnia
Brantford, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Would come back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Had a wonderful stay! Started with the way we were treated at the front desk, to the evening manager at the Shellys Tap and Grill (hotel restaurant on site), to quickly responding to any requests we had. We previously had a crib/play pen ordered to the room. Within 5 minutes it was at our door. Every dining, tourism, request for what to do, what to see, where to go, always was fantastic and they helped us out whenever needed. The days were HOT!!!!, so the pool was fantastic. This was also the only negative, As a father of 2 little kids I spent a lot of time in the water on my knees in the water and the pools bottom (blue paint) must have rubbed off on my knees and tops of my toes and doesn't seem to come off easily. Not a big complaint, as we really enjoyed everything this hotel had to offer! Thanks to everyone who made our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    57
    23
    2
    5
See reviews for
33
36
11
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was our second time staying at this Best Western. It was an over night stay. We were traveling with our dog and this hotel is pet friendly. When we booked the hotel there was no mention of a pet charge so I was surprised at check in. I mentioned it to the hotel receptionist and she said it was now a new charge, but she would check with the hotel manager. The room was nice, very large and even though our dog is only 5 pounds, it was nice to have the extra space and the outside door so we could take her out. We needed a microwave to heat up our dinner and there was not one in the room. We called and one was brought to our room quicker than I could get the food out of the cooler! Bed was comfy, toiletries very nice for a Best Western (even lip balm!), and I loved the heat lamp getting out of the shower. It's a bit old, but well maintained. Breakfast was free in the restaurant. It was very good and our server was nice. When we checked out the pet charge had been removed. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at the hotel. Was noisy and echoy sounding in the night. Will stay at the other London Best western next time. The noise from the children was a lil much. I also never had my points put on my rewards card.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheatley, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We only stayed the one night but we were very happy with the condition of the room and the hotel in general. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We were especially happy with the ground floor room having both and inside and outside door and little patio to sit on. Next time though we will ask for a marina side room for the views. Excellent location close to the parks, bridge and downtown.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the river, ask for a marina side room. For ease of access get a ground floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland Lake, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Hotel staff was excellent! Room and breakfast also excellent. I made a mistake with the booking and the manager was quick to rectify the problem. She was very friendly and helpful when I was talking to her. Definitely will stay here again! Give this hotel and staff A++

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed here for two nights for business.

My first impression of the room was it felt like like a fancied up old motel room. The walls and carpet looks a bit dated, but the bed, fixture, and tub has been recently updated.

There is no elevator at this place. So if you have mobility issues, make sure you ask for a room on the first floor

Breakfast was a bit disappointing, but can't complain about it since it's complimentary.

If you are a light sleeping, this place might not be for you. When the neighbouring room flushes the toilet, you can hear it REALLY loud. I'm not sure if it was just my room or if they're all like that.

Another disappointing thing is I think their BW rewards status is pretty much useless. I have Diamond status and I don't think there is any perks besides......1 chocolate bar. I'm starting to get the idea there is no real perks to sticking to BW, but this is more of a corporate issue, then the location itself.

Overall, I think this is one of the BETTER Best Western that I stayed in, but I think it's really hard to stick to their chain when competitors offer more for repeated guests.

Pros:
- Nice clean and updated room
- Friendly staff
- Free internet with decent speed
- Free breakfast
- Variety of channels on TV

Con:
- thin walls
- sub-par breakfast
- non-existing BW reward status program

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Guildwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Guildwood Inn

Address: 1400 Venetian Boulevard, Sarnia, Ontario N7T 7W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Sarnia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Sarnia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Guildwood Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Guildwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Guildwood Hotel Sarnia
Best Western Sarnia
Sarnia Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Guildwood Inn Sarnia, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Guildwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.