We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1498 Venetian Blvd, Sarnia, Ontario N7T 7W6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Sarnia
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed for a tournament for 2 nights. The rooms were spacious and nice, the beds were comfortable except there were no firm pillows. We were on the first floor and it was great because we had a balcony door that went directly to the parking lot. The pools were nice but the restaurant was expensive. The only bad thing was that we did get housekeeping and so we had dirty sheets and dirty, wet towels. I had to personally have to go and get towels .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
ldantimo, It was great to see you enjoyed your stay and that you had the opportunity to enjoy the facilities. It was unfortunate that both the pillows and the housekeeping services were not to your liking. For future stays, please be aware that we have a pillow menu (offering 6 different pillow types). In addition, if there is anything during your stay that we have overlooked, please feel free to call down to the front desk at anytime. We have 24 hour Manager on Duty Services available to all of our guests. Thank you for making us your hotel of choice.

Geoff Eisenbraun, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    97
    47
    12
    12
See reviews for
68
47
13
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Hold On! that wasn't a compliment. Rather, it was a head-shaking on how this hotel consistently manage to disappoint me. I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions in the past. As a Platinum member, I requested for a room in the tower section. But instead, I got room on the main floor (which I can't stand) of the "supposedly" renovated section. If this was renovated, I sure would hate to see the non-renovated rooms. Did they renovate with materials from the "ReUseIt" stores? As a Platinum member for several years, I have stayed at numerous Holiday Inn hotels across North America, this hotel has got to be the worse. I don't think they even attempt to upgrade you. Famous line has always been, there aren't any rooms available to upgrade. Yes, standard pre-scripted phrase.
I have booked myself at this hotel next month for over 15 days. But, I will also be booking another nearby hotel just in case I get another lousy room. That way, I can always checkout and go to the other hotel. For the price of this hotel, it really isn't worth the disappointment.

Room Tip: stay away from the old section. The only rooms worth staying are the upper floors in the tower secti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear RTam87,
I am very disappointed to read of your experiences with us and that you feel unappreciated as an IHG Rewards Platinum member. We truly do try and provide a complimentary upgrade for our platinum members at check in but due to the consistent high demand of our 70 room tower, they fill very quickly through advanced bookings. Your room preferences have been noted and we will continue to do the best we can to get you where you want to be.

Geoff Eisenbraun, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We really enjoy every stay at this wonderful location near the Bluewater Bridge and Canatara Park...an easy find as you exit the bridge..
The Tower rooms are our choice..spacious, clean and nice views.
However, the Bridges Restaurant is the big draw for us..terrific food, wonderful menu and great servings..the wine list is also very good.
The staff are the best!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I had a room on the main floor of the old section. Totally needs to be renovated. Room was warn out, carpet was dirty and the room felt very stuffy.
Ask for a room in the newer section.
And I do not recommend the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
I am sorry you were not satisfied with your experience. I would certainly love the opportunity to make this right. Please contact me at your convenience at 519-336-8840 or geisenbraun@fortisproperties.com

Sincerely,
Geoff Eisenbraun, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Our room wasn't near as nice as any of the photos I see here. The room was a little outdated, but that's ok. It was clean. The washroom was nice. The room smelled really musty, we turned the A/C on and it got better. The best thing about this hotel is the location....minutes away from the casino and the border. The staff were friendly and helpful. In the morning, my husband had breakfast while I slept in. He said it was good, I believe it was $13-14 per person. This hotel didn't really leave any kind of impression on me. Very basic, clean, comfortable bed. Nothing special for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear dmclay,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. We are so glad you liked the convenient location of our hotel and the friendliness of our staff. We're sorry you were not well satisfied with the room accommodations you received. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stay here any time we are in the area - a couple of times a year- from weekend long stays to 2 weeks.
I cannot say enough about the staff. From the greetings at the front desk, to the housekeeping staff. I can always tell when my 'favorite" housekeeper is working the moment I enter the room.
Any questions or requests are always met with a smile.
They have both indoor and outdoor pools for your enjoyment. A small fitness centre and a Par 3 golf course on site.
The hotel is always very clean.
I have read some snippets of reviews stating there are rooms that are outdated etc. Rest assured, the rooms have been updated.

Bridges restaurant has fantastic food. You can eat indoors or out in nice weather.

It is close to everything. The Bluewater Bridge to the USA is right out the front door. Take a drive/walk under the bridge and sit and watch the boats and crystal blue water.

I cannot say enough about this hotel. It's like a home away from home.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the golf course are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
It was a pleasure to read your review "KarenCOntario"! We can't thank you enough for sharing your experience with everyone. It was great to see we are your second home and that you feel so comfortable with the hotel and our staff. We will see you again soon!

Geoff Eisenbraun, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The Front Desk Staff was extremely friendly, great customer service. Room was very comfortable and clean. The restaurant has a great menu. We would have liked to golf and dine the golfcourse but we were short on time. The grounds are very nice and the hotel itself is extremely clean. Very close to downtown and lake front restaurants and tourist spots. Will return here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the tower king suite, beds were very nice and comfortable. Choice of pillows...firm and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Jana B,
I was so pleased to see you had a wonderful stay with us and that you appreciated the friendly guest service and the clean and comfortable guestroom. We hope your next stay with us allows you time to enjoy our 9 hole, Par 3 golf course. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Cheers,
Geoff Eisenbraun, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center

Address: 1498 Venetian Blvd, Sarnia, Ontario N7T 7W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Sarnia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Sarnia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center 3*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel In Sarnia Offers Quality Service With beautiful views of the marina and the comforts of home, you can expect a relaxing stay at the Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel and Conference Center in Point Edward, ON. Our hotel's convenient location is 10 km from Sarnia Chris Hadfield Airport (YZR). From the Point Edward Charity Casino to Centennial Park, numerous attractions surround our hotel's guests. In Sarnia, you can visit the Sarnia Sports & Entertainment Center, see a show at the Imperial Theatre or shop at Lambton Mall. Golfers can enjoy a game at our own 9-hole Holiday Inn Golf Course or one of the many greens throughout Sarnia. Lodging here is also beneficial for business travelers working with Aamjiwnaang First Nations, Ontario Power Generation, UWO Research Park, Chemical Valley, the Canadian Coast Guard and more. Our hotel's amenities include over 12,000 sq. ft. of meeting space, business suites and a 24-hour business centre to meet your corporate needs. We go beyond other hotels in Sarnia to bring you the comforts of home, such as the on-site Bridges Bistro and Freightor's Lounge, an indoor and an outdoor pool, a hot tub, a sauna and a fitness centre. Our Sarnia hotel's rooms feature work areas with free high-speed Internet access, large TVs, spacious layouts and beautiful views. We are also 4 Green Keys - Environmentally! You'll enjoy a comfortable stay at the Holiday Inn hotel- Sarnia.Local pictures courtesy of TSL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel And Conf Center
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Sarnia
Sarnia Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.