We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1498 Venetian Blvd, Sarnia, Ontario N7T 7W6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Sarnia
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The Front Desk Staff was extremely friendly, great customer service. Room was very comfortable and clean. The restaurant has a great menu. We would have liked to golf and dine the golfcourse but we were short on time. The grounds are very nice and the hotel itself is extremely clean. Very close to downtown and lake front restaurants and tourist spots. Will return here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the tower king suite, beds were very nice and comfortable. Choice of pillows...firm and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Jana B,
I was so pleased to see you had a wonderful stay with us and that you appreciated the friendly guest service and the clean and comfortable guestroom. We hope your next stay with us allows you time to enjoy our 9 hole, Par 3 golf course. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Cheers,
Geoff Eisenbraun, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Toronto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I booked three rooms for 1 night's stay on June 29 for my family and I to attend a funeral. We were in the older section of the hotel by the banquet facilities. Yes, the hallways feel old and creepy, and the washroom needs to be updated, but other than that the rooms are fine and quite comfortable. I have stayed in the tower section before and it does seem fresher and newer over there. After booking this room through the main reservation system, I called the hotel directly with some special requests which where completely fulfilled, with no hesitation. We traveled with my 93 year grandmother and staff were so wonderful to her; when she was cold I was told a staff member came into her room with a warm blanket and wrapped her and when she had trouble getting dressed in the morning one of the housekeeping staff helped. Amazing. Overall, this is a great hotel that will go the distance to make you comfortable. Perfect for large families.

Room Tip: The front desk staff can accommodate many special requests, just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joshua_78Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The rooms are outdated, the decor shabby and old. It was like stepping back in time, but in a bad way. It's really too bad, because the hallways are nice.
The pool, sauna and hot tub are nice.
The restaurant is overpriced, unnecessarily so. Instead of a fancy restaurant, investing in the rooms should be a priority.
Everything is nice and clean, which is this hotel's saving grace.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tee Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Tee Jay R,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay. It makes us happy to read that you liked the cleanliness of our hotel, as well as our pool and hot tub area. Conversely, it is unfortunate that the condition of the room was not to your liking. We appreciate you sharing your thoughts and concerns as this helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we can improve on.

Should your future travels bring you back to the area, we hope you would consider staying with us again and see the improvements made.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, ON, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

I inspected room at this hotel and yes the room was in the older section but has been renovated - second floor balcony.
I am very impressed. Very clean.
The front desk staff are very professional and friendly.
I do not understand the negative complaints regarding the rooms.
Unless people book the lower room expecting to be upgraded to tower.
And yes the west wing is being renovated.
Overall this in my opinion is much better than the hotel next door we are currently staying at.
There is no comparison in restaurant food or service much better at holiday inn

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank aturtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Your many positive comments are much appreciated. All of our team members take pride in providing a genuine friendly experience as well as a clean and comfortable stay. Thank you for the reccomendation and we look forward to serving you soon!

Geoff Eisenbraun, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

At first it was not so good. They booked my wife and I down a hall that was being painted and got a bunch on my favorite sweater from our anniversary. I told them what had happened. So they then upgraded our room with a discount and took my sweater, cleaned it and had it back in the room after we returned from supper. Wow. This was not our first stay and won't be the last.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Victor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
George Clan,
Thank you for sharing your experience with your fellow travellers. It was unfortunately that we caused your favorite sweater to get paint on it. I am happy that we could clean it to your satisfaction and that you could enjoy the rest of your stay. We all look forward to your return!

Geoff Eisenbraun, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stopped for a quick overnight stay in June 2014. Beds were very comfortable, room was clean but the whole room needs a refresh. The bathroom area/door was circa 1970/1980 while some of the superficial stuff in the washroom/bedroom were refreshed most of the room felt old/dated. Carpets in hotel rooms gross me out, I recommended removing the carpet and changing with laminate or tile this way it can be cleaned daily. Old carpets traps odours that provide a first impression upon entering the room. Overall reception was friendly but would've appreciated complimentary breakfast as most hotels (especially Holiday Inn) provide.

Room Tip: Ask for new section?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahboh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Sarahboh,

Thank you for choosing us on your recent travel. We are very glad you found our hotel clean and spacious. On the other hand, it is unfortunate that the overall condition of the room was not to your liking. We take all reviews seriously and we thank you for highlighting some areas that we can improve on.

We would love for you to stay with us again when you return to Auburn when you can enjoy all our amenities.

Warm Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Catharines
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I call to book a room in the tower only, was told I had a room in the tower which is suppose to be newer. When I got found out my room was in the old section not a great room 159 right next to all the maintance rooms. Wasn't that clean, show it age, bed was not great, woke up with a bad back. Front desk was not helpful and try to tell me I did not call their but I when back to my room and use my phone and called the number on the my paper and front desk pick up not expedita, I was so mad, no micowave in room which I ask for also. Front desk staff in the night and morning was not helpful. I try to get the manager but got machine saying they will call back no phone call back. Worse experience at Holiday Inn, breakfast was the best thing that happen at the restaurant and I have taste better, down the street. If I had known that I would not get what I ask for I would have book at a low end hotel. I paid enough for the room I could have save myself at least $40 to $50 at got the same kind of room. This has made me think again about staying at Holiday Inn hotels and I am a season traveller. I am sure I will enjoy my stay for the next two nights down the street. They know how to treat their customers. I will never stay at this hotel again. Customer Service is not good.

Room Tip: Make sure you check out other places first
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 530Wedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear 530Wedding,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room assignment prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarnia
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Sarnia
Quality Inn Sarnia
#1 of 16 in Sarnia
4.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Guildwood Inn
0.5 mi away
The Harbourfront Inn
The Harbourfront Inn
#5 of 16 in Sarnia
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 16 in Sarnia
4.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
1.0 mi away
Drawbridge Inn
Drawbridge Inn
#9 of 16 in Sarnia
3.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center

Address: 1498 Venetian Blvd, Sarnia, Ontario N7T 7W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Sarnia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Sarnia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center 3*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel In Sarnia Offers Quality Service With beautiful views of the marina and the comforts of home, you can expect a relaxing stay at the Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel and Conference Center in Point Edward, ON. Our hotel's convenient location is 10 km from Sarnia Chris Hadfield Airport (YZR). From the Point Edward Charity Casino to Centennial Park, numerous attractions surround our hotel's guests. In Sarnia, you can visit the Sarnia Sports & Entertainment Center, see a show at the Imperial Theatre or shop at Lambton Mall. Golfers can enjoy a game at our own 9-hole Holiday Inn Golf Course or one of the many greens throughout Sarnia. Lodging here is also beneficial for business travelers working with Aamjiwnaang First Nations, Ontario Power Generation, UWO Research Park, Chemical Valley, the Canadian Coast Guard and more. Our hotel's amenities include over 12,000 sq. ft. of meeting space, business suites and a 24-hour business centre to meet your corporate needs. We go beyond other hotels in Sarnia to bring you the comforts of home, such as the on-site Bridges Bistro and Freightor's Lounge, an indoor and an outdoor pool, a hot tub, a sauna and a fitness centre. Our Sarnia hotel's rooms feature work areas with free high-speed Internet access, large TVs, spacious layouts and beautiful views. We are also 4 Green Keys - Environmentally! You'll enjoy a comfortable stay at the Holiday Inn hotel- Sarnia.Local pictures courtesy of TSL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel And Conf Center
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Sarnia
Sarnia Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing