We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Party” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1498 Venetian Blvd, Sarnia, Ontario N7T 7W6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Sarnia
Sarnia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Birthday Party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I recently attended a kids sleepover birthday party at the Holiday Inn on Venetian Blvd. in Sarnia. Kids and parents had reserved 2 adjoining rooms for party. 8 kids in all attended with 4 staying over night. They had a great time in the swimming pool, exercise room and hot tub. The rooms were spacious with 2 bathrooms for changing. They did crafts in the room, played games and opened presents. In the restaurant the children's menu was more than adequate for these young ones. Some complimentary kids meals if adults ordered an entrée. Adult meals were delicious. After dinner we went back to the room for cake and were supplied ice cream by the waitress. Great place for a party. Kids were all happy and Mom had no mess at home to clean up.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
It sounds like a FANTASTIC party and that everyone really enjoyed themselves.....which is the whole idea when celebrating with family and friends!! As we just did a complete renovation (+$300,000) of the Indoor Pool, Change Rooms and Fitness Centre within the last year, I was pleased to see that you all enjoyed the new facilities. As we invented "Kids Eat Free", childrens birthday celebrations are a perfect time to take advantage of this program. Wonderful to hear that everyone thought it was a "great place for a party" and that all of the adults loved their meals.
Thanks for sharing!!

Geoff Eisenbraun, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    92
    44
    12
    11
See reviews for
62
46
13
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph,On
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Don't you hate it when you must stand over the toilet to close the bathroom door??? I certainly do when using a public toilet but I never imagined that I would have to do the same while using a hotel bathroom!!! Clean, nice salt water pool. Our room actually overlooked the back grassed property - much nicer than a typical parking lot. Otherwise, the hotel is Holiday Inn average. Slamming outdoor doors could be heard throughout our visit.
Very close to the US border, the casino and the Sarnia Yacht Club.

Friendly helpful staff, nice breakfast (at additional cost).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Nese,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Check in was very sufficient and fast. Did not get the room in the tower, that was promised. Stayed at the 2 story side of the hotel and we could hear the party, that was going on in the hotel still late into the night. The room was ok, the bathroom really small. Bedding and mattress were good. We enjoyed the Bridges Bistro for Breakfast, it has a nice view towards the golf course. Lobby modern and big, but the rooms need updating.

Room Tip: Try to book a room in the new tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Mexx_10,

Thank you for your candid review. Your willingness to spare some of your time to review our hotel is genuinely appreciated. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Usually come down this way once a year and often stay here. Rooms are always clean as is the lobby and hallways. Front desk staff is always helpful as well. I do find it a bit pricey considering it is Sarnia not Toronto. But, yes, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The newer rooms are in the tower but more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
LPPM - It is "Our Pleasure" to serve you and your family each time you stay with us! Thank you for choosing us as your preferred hotel and for giving us the opportunity to do so. Clean rooms and genuinely friendly and helpful staff are at the very top of our priority list so I am very pleased to see that these two important areas stood out as part of your hotel experience. We all look forward to seeing you back on your yearly visit!!

Geoff Eisenbraun, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The usual Holiday Inn standards exist at this location. The tower location is newer and I would recommend staying there. There is one floor in the tower that has secure access (card reader in the elevator). The restaurant offers above average food although a bit expensive. The cost was a higher than normal but I suspect it was because the hotel was fully booked. The location is just outside of downtown Sarnia but there are some good restaurants in the area and the Casino is just down the street.

Room Tip: The tower rooms are newer!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Trace l,
Many thanks for taking the time to share your experiences and traveller tips for everyone to review. As you mention, we do have a great location and we are very proud of our exceptional food in the restaurant and lounge. I appreciate you staying with us and we all hope to see you back soon.

Geoff Eisenbraun, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was our first stay at this Holiday Inn in Sarnia and we found it very convenient to accessing the Blue Water Bridge. The hotel is well managed and has very friendly staff. Our room was well lit and properly equipped however the tissue dispenser had rust on it and the bottom of the bathroom door showed signs of water damage. The WiFi was exceptionally good which is unusual these days. We will certainly use this hotel on our return home.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
DWGB - Fantastic to see that you had such a great stay with us on your very first visit that you will be rejoining us on your return trip home. It doesn't get any better than that!! I appreciate you taking the time to share and we look forward to seeing you again on your way back home!! Safe travels.

Geoff Eisenbraun, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
578 helpful votes 578 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Older HI but great location next to the Expressway. Some traffic noise on that side.

Rooms - I always book the newer Tower rooms as the rest of the hotel rooms are older and not as comfortable. Clean rooms, well stocked. Best room rates are sometimes too high for the area. Between contractor and casino traffic this location can sell out often so book ahead.

Parking - Lots of free parking and I've never had any security issues.

Restaurant - Actually a surprisingly great restaurant for an HI with gourmet quality on some menu items.

IHG Rewards - As a Platinum member recognition has been good with appropriate upgrades/benefits.

Room Tip: Due to Expressway noise don't book on that side. Don't book near ice machines/vending machin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
As a Platinum IHG Rewards member, I am very pleased to see that you have had the opportunity to enjoy the benefits of both the Brand program and the local (hotel) program. I appreciate you sharing some good tips to future travellers regarding our great location, wonderful food and clean guest rooms. Thanks for taking the time to share and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Geoff Eisenbraun, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center

Address: 1498 Venetian Blvd, Sarnia, Ontario N7T 7W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Sarnia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Sarnia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center 3*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel In Sarnia Offers Quality Service With beautiful views of the marina and the comforts of home, you can expect a relaxing stay at the Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel and Conference Center in Point Edward, ON. Our hotel's convenient location is 10 km from Sarnia Chris Hadfield Airport (YZR). From the Point Edward Charity Casino to Centennial Park, numerous attractions surround our hotel's guests. In Sarnia, you can visit the Sarnia Sports & Entertainment Center, see a show at the Imperial Theatre or shop at Lambton Mall. Golfers can enjoy a game at our own 9-hole Holiday Inn Golf Course or one of the many greens throughout Sarnia. Lodging here is also beneficial for business travelers working with Aamjiwnaang First Nations, Ontario Power Generation, UWO Research Park, Chemical Valley, the Canadian Coast Guard and more. Our hotel's amenities include over 12,000 sq. ft. of meeting space, business suites and a 24-hour business centre to meet your corporate needs. We go beyond other hotels in Sarnia to bring you the comforts of home, such as the on-site Bridges Bistro and Freightor's Lounge, an indoor and an outdoor pool, a hot tub, a sauna and a fitness centre. Our Sarnia hotel's rooms feature work areas with free high-speed Internet access, large TVs, spacious layouts and beautiful views. We are also 4 Green Keys - Environmentally! You'll enjoy a comfortable stay at the Holiday Inn hotel- Sarnia.Local pictures courtesy of TSL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel And Conf Center
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Sarnia
Sarnia Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.