We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic homestead” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laura Secord Homestead

Laura Secord Homestead
29 Queenston St, Queenston, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
905 262 4851
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 things to do in Queenston
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Historic homestead”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Laura Secord homestead has a nice interpretive center now displaying the history and information about Laura and the War of 1812 well worth the stop

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    22
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I love to take guests around the area and this days trip was great with at stop at many historical sites. The Laura Secord Homestead makes you feel like you have stepped back in time. The architecture is simple. The colours are soft. The air has an energy from times long past. I just really enjoyed myself there as I did all the historical places we visited in Queenston that day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Staff went out of their way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stopped by after regular tour hours, but Melissa opened the doors to us and assured us that we could tour the site on our own. As it happened, a tourguide was available and more than happy to show us through the house and answer our questions. We appreciated how we were accommodated. Thank you!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, ontario
Top Contributor
445 reviews 445 reviews
230 attraction reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
“Has Place Has Played Its Part In The War Of 1812”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stopped by this historic homestead for a quick tour and it certainly played its part in the War of 1812. Place is very small but what do you expected from a place to live from that period of time. Lot's of pieces of history within the house to get one an idea of what life was like during that time period. I was so impressed by the presentation by the tour guide that I wrote a nice e-mail to the Curator of this location. Nice museum plus gift shop as well. There was also a wedding going on in the chapel located on the property as well.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“pretty place but not worth the trip”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We wanted to experience some of the War of 1812 history so we decided to stop here on a trip to Niagara. After winding our way into this place (and one U-turn later) what we thought was to be a homestead turns out to be a house. And a rather small house. It was interesting to see the staff dressed in period dress, but the house was disappointing. The only way to view it is to go through with a tour guide so you have to wait for a tour. Then you are led into the house only to be told the artifacts are NOT original to Laura Secord (but are from the period). Disappointing.

For two adults and one child it cost almost $30 for entry. It was not worth it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laura Secord Homestead also viewed

 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Laura Secord Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laura Secord Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.