We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Food - won't be back” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Montana's Cookhouse

Montana's Cookhouse
800 The Parkway, Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
743-9385
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 266 Restaurants in Peterborough
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing Food - won't be back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My wife and I went for dinner with two other couples on a Sunday night. Service was a bit slow, despite the friendliness of the waiter. Cutlery was missing, and some appetizers didn't arrive until the entres were ready. I normally like just about everything I eat, but I was vey disappointed in my steak - fatty and over-cooked for 'medium rare'. My wife was disappointed, too, in her wilted and withered salad. Another lady ordered roast chicken, and it was tasteless and over-cooked. Over-all, not a very good meal, especially for the price. Lots of other great restaurants in PTBO, so we won't be back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    15
    13
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brantford, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A darn good meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Ok I get it...it's a chain restaurant, but still the servers are super friendly. The food was pretty darn tasty and the kids were happy to be drawing with the provided crayons on the table. My only negative would be that the kids meal they say go up to a 12 year old...well my 10 year old nephew ate his grilled cheese and very small small serving of fries and was still hungry...the kids portion could be bigger.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
2 reviews
“b-day fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

the service was excellent and the food was on point, no one at the table had any complaints

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Went their with the family on a trip to Peterborough. The food was delicious. The family had a great a time. The food was hot and tasted good. Good value.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Look elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Overpriced food out of a box. Mediocre service. Everything that's wrong with North American restaurant chains. Avoid.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montana's Cookhouse also viewed

Peterborough, Ontario
 
Peterborough, Ontario
 

Been to Montana's Cookhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montana's Cookhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.