We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Claire de Lune Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Peterborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Claire de Lune Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Claire de Lune Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
868 Bear Creek Road, RR 1 | Kawarthas, Peterborough, Ontario K9J 6X2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Peterborough B&B and Inns
Bolton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed longer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We only had one evening to enjoy this beautiful home but from the moment we were greeted at the door by Claire, her warmth and friendliness made us realize that we would wish for longer to stay. Our room was lovely and we were met with spa music playing in our room as we entered providing a relaxed atmosphere. Our breakfast the next morning was absolutely delicious, prepared with local, organic and fresh ingredients. In all of our travels we have never met a couple more committed to providing healthy food choices for their guests and such dedication to protecting the environment. We count the days until we can return and reconnect with them and next time it will be for a longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Beautiful B&B nestled onto a gorgeous property on Pigeon Lake. The Hosts, Claire and Rod, are a wonderful couple who truly enjoy paying attention to every detail of luxury in their eco friendly environment. From the organic, locally grown food that they serve to the sumptuous linens and bath products that are used, this B&B is a cut about the rest, yet so affordable. Close to Bobcaygeon and Peterborough and only 90 minutes from Toronto allows for a great getaway without having to drive to the wilderness to find serenity. Very confused by the Not Eco-Friendly review as all of their property work/enhancements are Gov't approved, perhaps a disgruntled neighbor? Final word, for the best B&B in Ontario that I've come across.. book a night or two at Claire de Lune!

Room Tip: Love the Poppy Room, but also the Black/White room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I am writing this from our Chenonceau Master Suite. We had stumbled on this amazing find surfing the net and are truly fortunate to have done so. The outstanding personal service perfectly combined with attention to every exquisite detail forced our one night stay into two. Our gracious hosts, Claire and Rod make you feel like one of family from the moment you set foot through the door of their immaculate oasis. The bed is the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on and the wonderful bedroom private balcony view is the only thing that beckons me from it ! Our huge soaker tub is big enough for two and one if you want some exercise to do a few laps. Our breakfast is more like a personally served brunch. Claire and Rod gently serve each wonderful course after another with friendly clever banter in no short supply ! The menu is one to be savored ! ( I am a Chef and this breakfast is one I will not soon forget ) Everything is served with style and grace, leaving no detail undone. The architechture is amazing combining old world rough sawn beam charm mixed with elegant furnishings. Modern amenities, old fashioned service and rustic charm are what await you here at Claire de Lune .

I disagree with the review below regarding eco-friendly. The efforts to be green are apparent throughout the property and the partially finished bridge leading to their small island has nothing what so ever to do with the amount of algae in the large Pigeon Lake. It is a ridiculous statement and easily dispersed if you saw it. Pigeon Lake is over 13 000 Acres of water and according to " the fishing guide.com " Primary fish species present include, largemouth and smallmouth bass, walleye, muskellunge, crappie, perch and bluegill."

http://www.thefishinguide.com/pigeon-lake-fishing-ON.php

A winding path through flora and fauna lead you to a wonderful wooden deck filled with ingredients for adventure. A paddleboat, canoes, kayak and all the gear for a great water getaway are neatly provided. We are told fish are abundant and look forward to finding out tomorrow morning.

They cater to your every whim and suggest whatever is is you crave in the surrounding area, although you will find it tough to drag your self away from this lil bit of paradise !

Hats off to you Claire and Rod ! This has been such an incredible getaway for the both of us and we will certainly be returning on a regular basis. Anyone reading this....stop now and email or call Claire to ensure you get an opportunity to experience Tranquily as it was intended..... Happy Trails... Take Care and Keep Smilin !! Kev N Jan

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

By far this is the loveliest bed and breakfast of our travels through Canada and the United States. Abundant windows open up to beautiful views of the woods and lake. We enjoyed the setting sun from our very private bedroom balcony as we listened to the call of the loons on the water. Our bed was extremely comfortable and our room was large and spotless. Delicious gourmet breakfasts were prepared with local, fresh ingredients. Claire and Rod are gracious hosts that provide a five star experience. Even though we had a full afternoon of activities planned we returned early to Claire de Lune just to enjoy the relaxing environment. I most highly recommend - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Claire de Lune in early December 2012, in the Coach House –Poppy Room. I cannot say enough great things about this place and we are definitely planning on going back in 2013. This was the third time we have stayed at a B&B, and it was by far the best experience yet.

Positives:
-Room is huge and includes a lounge/sitting area
-King size bed is one of the most comfortable ones I have ever slept on
-Private bathroom with full shower/tub
-Shared mini-fridge with the other room in the Coach House.
-Private; option of hanging out in the “Vivoir” playing cards, games, etc or more than enough space in the room to do the same.
-The house is absolutely huge. There is a separate entrance for the Coach House with only the two bedrooms and the Vivoir on that side so you do not feel like you are walking on eggshells in someone’s home.
-Four course breakfast with flexible times (we chose to eat at 10 am)! Yogurt parfait with granola and fruit, salad/protein (i.e. eggs), some sort of grain (pancakes, muffin, etc) and dessert. I am a very picky eater and requested vegetarian options, which they were happy to accommodate. Food was delicious
-Extremely friendly hosts; Claire greeted us as the door, after a long, wet, dark drive with two cups of steaming hot apple cider and two chocolates.
-It was fall/winter, so we were not able to take advantage of this, but they have various boats on the property that guests can make use of.

Room Tip: The Coach House is more private, as it is on the far end of the house. The Master Suites are a bit m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Why is this is the best bed & breakfast experience that my wife and I have ever enjoyed? It's largely the attention to detail that our hosts Claire and Ron showed throughout our stay. It started with our confirmation email that outlined various local happenings that could enrich our stay in the Buckhorn area. It continued with the charm of their lake-side setting and their self-constructed stone home built in a Quebecois fashion. It was the warmth of their welcome that included your choice of slippers, the cleanliness of every room, the designer bath products and top quality candle in our private bathroom with shower and soaker tub. It was also the homemade chocolate treats that were artfully wrapped beside our bed at night. In the morning, it was the easel by our table with our names written above the exquisite details of the five-course breakfast that we were about to be served. This place is an absolute must for everyone looking for the very best in an upcountry pampering.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We did not know what to expect when arriving, and from the moment we stepped outside the car we knew we were in for a great stay. This place is destined to relax you and the thoughtfulness of every detail is apparent all around you; from the fresh local mint on the breakfast parfait, to the soaker tub bath salts and in-room wine station. The property is nestled into a cove that provides serenity, peace and privacy and feels like your own private cottage get away. The room we stayed in was incredibly cozy, with a king size bed, a large walk-out balcony, and spa like bathroom. The entire building is a work of art, designed and built by the owners. We drove from the east end of Toronto, and it was a quite pleasant drive after we got off the highway that took just over an hour door to door. This is a place for couples, and it truly transports you away for your stay. I am not a prolific B&B holidayer, but I will defintely return here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Claire de Lune Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claire de Lune Bed & Breakfast

Address: 868 Bear Creek Road, RR 1 | Kawarthas, Peterborough, Ontario K9J 6X2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Peterborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Peterborough
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Claire De Lune Bed & Breakfast Peterborough, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claire de Lune Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.