We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History In Sight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canadian Canoe Museum

Canadian Canoe Museum
910 Monaghan Road Corner Of Romaine St., Peterborough, Ontario K9J 5K4, Canada
866-34-CANOE, 705-748-9153
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 Attractions in Peterborough
Type: History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: North America's only canoe museum.
Roseneath, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“History In Sight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This museum is a small but great part of Canadian History. Well worth your time and you need to spend time to see it all.
Even Pierre of the Trudeau Clan is well represented. He was a fine canoeist.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    27
    3
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ontario, cda
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Canadian indeed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I just discovered this museum existed when I was planning my trip to Ottawa in October. I wanted a one night stopover and didn't want to do the whole trek via the 401. Peterborough is an excellent part way point to get off the beaten track and enjoy the sights and scenes of the TransCanada.

I would have to say I have had only a passing interest in canoes or canoeing but this museum blew me away with its collection and yes, representation from all parts of Canada. I really regretted not giving it more time - I arrived after three and they close at five - but I would definitely go back.
While I was able to make my way around the entire facility to see all the exhibits I did not take the time to view the various video clips placed throughout.
All of the artifacts are labelled as to origin, materials and purpose so there is a fair bit of reading. This might limit the non English speakers experience but I think everyone would gain an appreciation for the builders of these canoes (and kayaks) and the various ways they contributed to the growth and development of this vast country.

Well done Canadian Canoe Museum

I was there on a Monday in mid October - there were maybe eight of us in the whole place.

Also, my B&B host provided me with a visitors guide with many discount vouchers, including a $2.00 one for the Canadian Canoe Museum. (It's well worth the full price though)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“quite a collection of canoes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

the exhibits were well thought out and videos running added a sense of history - staff very helpful & nice gift store

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Canoe museum in Peterborough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We really enjoyed the Canadian Canoe Museum with historical canoes of all kinds, and live demo of paddle and canoe making. Antique canoes from Very informative displays. Could have better lighting though. http://www.canoemuseum.ca/

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Industrial Exterior Belies Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The canoe in its many incarnations was critical to opening up the vast wilderness of Canada to settlement. It's use for sport and recreation continues the enduring legacy and high profile in this great country of ours.
The Canadian Canoe museum is one of a kind. From the moment we stepped inside the rather staid exterior walls, we were blown away by the wonderful collection, interesting interactive activities (paddle carving, blanket weaving etc.) and knowledgeable staff.
We done and well worth a visit.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canadian Canoe Museum also viewed

Peterborough, Ontario
 

Been to Canadian Canoe Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canadian Canoe Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.