We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Room for the Price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1209 Lansdowne Street West, Peterborough, Ontario K9J 7M2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Peterborough
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Decent Room for the Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Recently stayed here after attending a wedding. For the price we paid we were surprised to see we got a 'Jacuzzi Suite', which included a decent sized sitting area, fireplace, and heart shaped jacuzzi tub. Staff was friendly and the room was nice.

My only complaints were that we were not informed it was a smoking room and were too tired to switch as it was midnight when we checked in. That and they have the world's smallest pillows!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort0724, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We were glad to hear you enjoyed your room and the conveniences that come with it. I am very sorry you weren’t informed it was a smoking room. This was an oversight on our part. Thank you for bringing it to our attention, we strive to ensure our guest satisfaction. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    42
    24
    9
    7
See reviews for
29
22
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Very freindly staff with lots of experitse; they like what they do and are good at it. The entire hotel is clean, and very well maintained. Lots of amenities. The breakfast is the best complimentary offering I've seen in 30 years of travelling- lots of choices with staff buzzing about attending to details. Lots of amenities, like courtesy internet, easy check-in access, laundry, and lobby washroom. Rooms are clean, comfortable and well-appointed, but not overly spacious. The support staff also work hard to make this an great place to stay- they deserve to be tipped.

Room Tip: Don't miss the breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort0724, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you very much for Sharing your great experience with us. Our Staff strive to ensure your entire stay is pleasurable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

A group of family and friends visited Comfort Inn in Peterborough for the Civic Holiday week-end and stayed overnight. Booked in advance and Shannon was extremely helpful, taking the time to answer all the questions and even gave us an amazing group discount. A big thank you to Shannon.

We all enjoyed our stay at the Comfort Inn. The reason we chose this hotel initially was because it was a pet-friendly hotel (since we were travelling with our two little dogs) and it had a swimming pool.

There is no extra charge for pets which is so rare these days. Our two dogs were happy and comfortable and there was lots of grassy areas for them to walk around and do their thing. If you’re a dog owner and bringing your beloved pooch here, please remember to poop and scoop. Pet friendly rooms were located on the ground floor which was convenient to take the dogs out for a walk.

The location of the hotel was also excellent. It’s located on Landsdowne Street West and there are tons of fast food places and restaurants nearby (some even within walking distance). Kelsey's Restaurant is attached to the hotel. Downtown Peterborough was a short 7 minute drive away.

Parking is also complimentary and lots of spots available even though the hotel was fully booked that night (I’m assuming due to the Kim Mitchell concert at Little Lake Music Fest at Del Crary Park).

The check in was at 3:00 pm and check was at 11:00 am. We had six rooms booked and when we checked in at 3:00, only two rooms were ready. The other rooms were still being cleaned. We waited about an hour for our rooms and when we finally checked in, we were given a $20 discount per room that wasn’t ready and they even let our entire group check out an hour later without extra cost.

The room and the hotel itself was extremely clean, better than any Comfort Inns we have stayed in. The room was pretty spacious and had two queen beds, mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, desk, chair, a cushioned chair in the corner, suitcase rack, lots of hangers, dresser, iron, ironing board and hairdryer. The bathroom was pretty clean too.

Basic toiletries like a little a mini bottle of shampoo, lotion and two bars of soap were provided. It’s ok if you’re staying for one night and you’re just two people in the room. Otherwise, I would definitely recommend to bring your own. Lots of towels and wash cloths were provided.
Indoor swimming pool and hot tub was in the basement and you need to use your room key to enter the pool area. Just take the elevator to the basement and the pool is right across from it. You can get the towels for the pool from the front desk and throw them in the hamper provided in the pool area once you’re done using them. We all had a great time using the pool although the water is really cold when you first get in but after a minute you get used to it. It was a bit hot in the pool area but nevertheless that didn’t stop us from having a blast. The pool opens at 7:00 am and remains open till 10:00 pm. The only thing was after a while it got really hot (because of the hot tub also located there) and the smell of chlorine was a bit too much to bear. Then again, we were in the pool area for nearly an hour.

Three of us had rooms on the ground floor (pet friendly) and three of us had rooms on the second floor. Thanks again for the hotel staff for assigning us rooms so that our group could be together.

There is an ice machine located on the second floor, to the right of the elevator, going towards the stairs. A vending machine is located on the ground floor.

A hot breakfast is provided the next morning from 7:00 am to 10:00 pm in the lobby, right across from the reception. There are quite a few tables and chairs to sit and eat there or you can take it back to your room if you wish to do so. There was quite a lot of variety from boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, sausages, toast, bagels, pastries, yogurt, make your own waffles, fresh fruit. There was also coffee, orange juice, lemonade, apple juice and cranberry juice.

Overall, I would say the service was excellent. Everyone was extremely friendly and I had to opportunity to meet Shannon in person and she was very pleasant. Once again, thanks for a wonderful stay in Peterborough and our whole group agreed that we would definitely stay here again when visiting Peterborough.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort0724, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we were able to meet all of your needs and expectations! Thank you for touching on the ammenities we offer here at the Comfort Hotel. We would be pleased to invite you to come see us again the next time your travels bring you to the beautiful Peterborough, Ontario.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We have done a pleasure stay at the Comfort Inn & Suites before but this time it was for a different reason. We were coming "home" for a funeral. I had made reservations about 3 days prior to our arrival & the front staff was most accommodating, giving me a good room rate of $80.99 for a funeral designation. And 2 of my family members were given the same rate.

Our room was a king-bed suite with couch, 2 comfortable "barrel chairs", a desk, mini frig, microwave & credenza which held the t.v. There is also a (single serving) coffee maker which worked well. The air conditioning worked well & the bed was very, very comfortable. The bathroom was clean & updated, although the bathtub can be very slippery when wet, as there are no grips on the bottom of the tub !

The pool & hot tub area were open until 11pm & we were able to relax and send our cares & woes down with the bubbles ! The towels, gotten from Reception, need to be just a little bigger, but at least we had some !

Continental breakfast was available next morning, with a varied menu from which to choose from: scrambled eggs, sausage, fresh fruit, muffins, bagels, cereal, toast, milk, juice, tea & coffee. I wish other hotels who advertise "a continental breakfast" would take note of what the Comfort Inn provides ...well done !!

Free Wi-Fi is available and we had no problem in accessing the service from our room.

One previous review states that "the hotel could stand to do some upgrading"...the only thing that I really noticed was the condition of the hallway floor, but that was no "biggy".

All in all, a great place to stay when in Peterborough...close to all major attractions & eateries, with a Kelsey's Restaurant connected to the main Lobby.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
We are very pleased to hear all of your nice comments about our hotel. You definitely touched on the amenities provided here and we are pleased you enjoyed them. Thank you for taking notice of our Hot Buffet Breakfast which we offer to all of our guests. It is one of the ways we are able to add value to anyone who has chosen to stay with us. Future plans are underway for some upgrades which we are hoping includes new hallway carpet soon. We would love you to come and visit the next time you are taking a trip "back home".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haliburton ontario
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

My husband and I chose this hotel because of past experiences. We had no reservation but were greeted with exceptional warmth and hospitality from the front end staff. We paid $101 for a king size bed suite and had a great night sleep. The hotel could stand to do some up grading on the rooms but having said that, the rooms are spotless, smell clean, bed is more then comfortable, bathroom clean and no wear marks anywhere. The only thing I would suggest is that they offer glass wear instead of plastic, just a personal preference. The hallways were clean, carpets spotless and fresh smelling, corridors were a tad smokey but not the hallways. The rooms came with a flat screen tv, small fridge and well appointed bathroom. Hotel is exceptionally quiet and had a small pool as well.Breakfast was hot and lots to chose from with fresh coffee. We always stay here when in Peterborough . good value for your money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort0724, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
It is my pleasure to welcome you to our hotel again when you are in Peterborough! We are glad you stay with us when your travels bring you this way. I am also pleased to hear of your good experiences at our hotel. When you stay at the Comfort hotel it is important to us that you feel at home! I am glad you were greeted with a warm smile. Thank you for mentioning the amenities that our hotel has to offer. We are hoping for a hotel face lift in the near future. Thanks again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

My stay at the Comfort Inn was good, the hotel was easy to find, lots of parking space. The hotel is few steps away from a Tim Horton and a plaza. Attached is a Keg restaurant. The room was clean, so was the bathroom, really enjoyed the shower and the soaked in the bathtub. The bathtub design to assist people with disability. Beds were comfortable. The breakfast was good. We encountered no problems. Will stay again if I am in Peterborough.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort0724, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
I am excited to hear your comments about our hotel and surrounding area! It sounds like you stayed in one of our mini suites which has a spa tub in the bathroom! (Perfect for soaking) We would love for you to come back and visit us the next time you are in Peterborough whether its for business or pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed overnight at the Comfort Inn, as part of a baseball team road trip. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The players really enjoyed the pool and hot tub after the cold spring baseball game. The breakfast the next morning was also great - especially the fresh waffles - and got the team ready for another day on the diamond.

There is a Kelsey's restaurant attached to the hotel, which seemed really convenient. Unfortunately, the restaurant manager was not happy about accommodating the group. He insisted that players sit with their parents, which wasn't very nice for anyone. Most restaurants let the boys sit together, and use jersey numbers to match kids' bills with parents' bills. The Kelsey's manager said they don't do that anymore, and that kind of spoiled the dinner for the group. I think we might return to the hotel, but we would make arrangements to take our dinner business elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort0724, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
I am thrilled to hear that your baseball team enjoyed their stay here at our hotel! I am glad you chose the Comfort Hotel & Suites and we would love to host you the next time you visit Peterborough! Thank you for your comments regarding our ammenities and facilities. It is always nice to hear someone was satisfied by the services we offer. As you now know Peterborough boasts many fine dining and family style restuarants to choose from! I appologize for the experience you encountered at the restaurant next door.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 1209 Lansdowne Street West, Peterborough, Ontario K9J 7M2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Peterborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Peterborough
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Peterborough
Peterborough Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn & Suites Peterborough, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.