We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Riverfront Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Peterborough

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Peterborough to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Peterborough
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 George St. N., Peterborough, Ontario K9J 3G5, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Peterborough
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Great Riverfront Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed June 30 night checking out July 01/12. This is our 3rd time staying here, July 2010, July 2011, and 2012 for our anniversary. The first two years we had reservations, but this time the central booking office and the internet said no rooms were available, but we took the chance and got one of the more expensive rooms (the honeymoon suite) on the 4th floor with a king bed and a river front balcony we really like each time. The bathroom has been redone and is an extremely large size with a soaker tub and a separate shower. We had a problem with the frig and maitenance man was up to our room immediately. The front desk manager and his trainee were fantastic and they even sent up a bottle of champagne to us as it was our anniversary. The room was spotless and had lots and lots of towels, etc. We like this hotel very much as we like spending time on the balcony overlooking the river and the park, it has a fancy restaraunt and a causal food/pub by the water with friendly staff. We like it also because it is close enough to walk uptown and visit the stores.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the 3rd and 4th floor and definitely riverfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice comments and we are glad you were able to share your anniversary with us. We love it when people spend their special occasions with us and we always try to make them extra special for them. We hope to see you for many more anniversaries in the future and Happy Anniversary from me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    69
    58
    20
    14
See reviews for
60
44
10
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Akron
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

This location is on the waterfront and in a very popular area so the price is not cheap. We did see the other lodging in the area so this looks like the best overall value. We chose to spend the extra money for a water view room. The rooms facing the street looked like they would be noisy. The hotel has been recently renovated. We did not use the bar but spent the evening in the outdoor area called the Gazebo which was really fun. The prices were fair and the local brews were great. The service was friendly.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for a water facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for your nice comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are glad you were able to enjoy the Gazebo while you were here, we are lucky to have such a nice atmosphere to offer to our guests.

We hope you come back to see us again soon and hope you have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I have stayed many times at this hotel for business purposes. The front counter staff this past time were excellent and went out of their way to get me a room even though I arrived earlier than the posted check-in time. This hotel has a good pool and exercise room and a decent restaurant. For breakfast, I generally go across the street to the restaurant (Smitty's?) where you can get a decent breakfast for under $ 8. My room faced the street which can get loud at times but the balcony was nice to sit out on. I actually was able to watch a large storm makes its way into town from the balcony which was nice. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Try the restaurant across the street for breakfast - it opens at 7 am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your great comments and we are glad our team was able to make such an impact on you. I agree that it is the people in our building that make it what it truly is and it is nice when we have a guest recognize this.

Thank you again for your great comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I stayed here for a conference. The location is great. The rooms were well maintained with good daily service. Admittedly, the building is seeming a little dated and could use a second elevator nearer the main entrance. Still, any deficiencies in physical structure are more than made up for by the extremely friendly and helpful staff. For decades I have spent up to 100 days per year in hotels in every corner of the world and I believe the staff here may be the best I have ever encountered anywhere.

Room Tip: Choose river side - worth the extra cost as the other side faces a fairly busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your great comments. I am not surprised that our team made your stay so fantastic as they all work every day to make sure everyone’s stay is the best they have ever had.

It is nice for them to have a seasoned traveller like yourself say how great they are doing, it really shows them that all their hard work has not gone unnoticed and really gives them the drive to be that much better for the next guest.

We do hope you have a chance to stay with us again soon, as we look forward to making your next stay an even more memerable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Because of its location on the waterfront, this is an expensive hotel, certainly more so than, say, Comfort Suites or the Quality Inn located elsewhere in town. We stayed at the Holiday Inn on May 26, 2012, when it was at or close to capacity with convention guests and young people participating in one sport or another. We had a city-side room which was very clean and comfortable. Hard to get to sleep with people talking loudly in the hallways at one o'clock in the morning and then again at 8 a.m. What is it with ignorant people who show no consideration for fellow guests? Traffic noise also a bit of a problem since our room was just a few yards from a busy street. Having said all that, we also have to complement the hotel on having staff like Judith on the front desk, Tracey who works in sales and our breakfast waitress in the hotel restaurant. Very nice, caring, helpful people. Thanks to them, we will return.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for a waterfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we agree that it is our team that makes our hotel a great place to stay.

It is nice when people say nice things about specific team members as it shows them how much their effort is appreciated.

We hope you have a chance to stay with us in the future as I know you will have other great team members that will stand out to you like Judith and Tracey did!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simcoe
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

got there for an executive suite with a balcony overlooking river. yup sorta. ground floor with a 8 foot x 4 foot slab as our balcony. neighbours parked their truck right in front of our appartment with radio on for their entertainment.and stole our lawn chairs to boot. so unless you are a huge good year tire fan the view was not too great . when we first arived we thought we would check out the movie selection but had trouble with the remote. no big deal right? wrong. maitenance guy was clueless to the repair.. brought spare remote that didnt work , just appologized and left. so much for movies. and the regular channels were not very clear at all either. in a nutshell.......... we will not be back.......

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for your comments and we are sorry you had issues during your stay. our executive rooms are on all 4 floors of our hotel and the first floor ones do have a patio instead of a balcony, however the river is just 15 feet from your patio so the view is still quite nice.

As for the clarity of the channels we have scheduled to upgrade to full HDTV by the end of 2012 once our current contract with our cable supplier expires. We are excited to have crystal clear reception at that time.

We do hope you come back and give our hotel another chance, I feel confident that you will have a more enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Peterborough is nice little City. I liked the downtown location, next to marina. Also close to Art Gallery which was also worth a look. Close to shopping/grocery 1 block away. Also to various meeting facilities, attended at 2 different stages, so nice meeting spaces in Peterborough as well. Very large room (must have been 2 made into 1), excellent pool facilities with indoor/outdoor tansition. If in Peterborough I would stay at the Holiday Inn again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Peterborough and our hotel. We work hard to make sure guests enjoy their stay and we are happy that we were successful with you.

We hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Peterborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Peterborough

Address: 150 George St. N., Peterborough, Ontario K9J 3G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Peterborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Peterborough 3*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Friendliest Service Among Peterborough, Ontario Hotels Located In the heart of the Kawarthas, the Holiday Inn Hotel Peterborough Waterfront is ideally situated along the Trent Severn Waterway in the downtown business and shopping district with 60 restaurants within walking distance. Our hotel's central location puts you near the world's highest hydraulic lift lock and Canada's only Canoe Museum, 1.5 km from our hotel. Peterborough hosts numerous festivals throughout the year, such as summer's Festival of Lights and is home to popular arts facilities, like Showplace Performance Centre. You'll also find some of the best shopping opportunities in downtown Peterborough. Lodging here puts business travelers near GE Canada, Siemens, Pepsi-QTG, De Laval, Ministry of Natural Resources and other businesses in Peterborough. Our hotel's amenities include over 650 sq. m. of meeting space, catering services and a 24-hour Business Centre. From the indoor/outdoor pool and whirlpool to the kid's playroom and recreation room, our Peterborough hotel's amenities keep you entertained. Enjoy a meal at the Riverside Grill, visit the Fitness Centre and relax in a 100% nonsmoking guest room or suite featuring comfortable beds with triple-sheeted mattresses, work areas with free high-speed Internet access, a 32-inch LCD TV and more. We invite you to stay at our hotel in Peterborough, where the only thing we overlook is the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Peterborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Peterborough Hotel Peterborough
Holiday Inn Peterborough Ontario
Peterborough Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Peterborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.