We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Good Fishing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Peterborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort
Save
You added Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort to your Saves list
691 Frank Hill Rd., Peterborough, Ontario K9J 6X3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Grimsby, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing and Good Fishing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

My fiance and I are pretty laid back and easy going. We tend to camp instead of renting a cottage but last year we decided to switch it up and just happened to see this place and thought we would give it a try.

We were not disappointed, though the lake is weedy we also knew this going in so we bought our fishing gear accordingly. We also used the canoe all week provided by them to fish instead of renting a boat. Though the canoe needed alittle bit of help, the owners were more then happy to provide a few screws to fix the seat and we were off to the races. Fishing was great!

We also brought out two black labs along with us on the trip, I cant say how nice it was to find a dog friendly park. We got to spent all week with our whole family! Lancaster cottages was a wonderful place everyone from the owners to the other renters were all very friendly! And we just booked our second summer with them this year and we cant wait to go! Thanks Lancaster cottages!

Room Tip: My fiance and I are pretty laid back and easy going. We tend to camp instead of renting a cottage b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterResort, Owner at Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank you for your review here on Trip Advisor. We are glad you had a great time. Our resort is meant for people just like you - laid back and easy going. We offer a quiet atmosphere for people to just relax and enjoy. Thanks again for your help with the canoe and we will see you again this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

After booking out stay at Lancaster, we finally arrived at this small, quiet location on the south tip of Chemung Lake. We were treated by the friendly office staff and management, and shown our cottage. I can not relate to any of the negative comments on this site, because it clearly states on the website that the lake is weedy. That is what the heated salt water pool is for. We enjoyed our stay so much that we decided to get a seasonal spot for our trailer there, and have been loving it for the last 2 years! Friendly staff, couples with the quaint environment, and beautiful sights and sounds of the kawarthas are enough to forget home. Thanks Lancaster,
Brian, Brian, Robert, and Lois.

Room Tip: Any room is nice, but the water front ones are definitely a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterResort, Owner at Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We love to hear when people enjoy their stay with us. We especialy like when they enjoy it so much that they want to be here every year. Our resort is just how you explained it - friendly staff, quaint environment, beautiful sights and sounds of the Kawarthas. See you again this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

The owners are very friendly and quickly attended to any concerns we had with the cottage, but over-all it was not a great place to stay. If there had been no pool, we likely would have left much sooner. The cottage we rented wasn't the cleanest...there were broken blinds in the living room/bedroom...our bathroom had an odour of 'backed up sewage' constantly. We spent most of our time in Peterborough as there were no real activities going on at the "resort". We met and chatted with various people who were also renting the cottages/trailers, and they were also very disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterResort, Owner at Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
I am sorry to hear that this cottager thought we were not a great place to stay. I don't like to respond to people's opinions but I will address some things. We do offer all of our advertised activities listed on our website. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We had a fantastic time. The owners were amazing, the park was peaceful. The only complaint I have is once we were moved to a cottage that everything was working was it wasnt cleaned the best. Under the bunk bed mattress was bars of soap candy wrappers pretty much a bunch of garbage. The other thing was that if you ran your microwave you couldnt have anything else in the cottage running or you would blow the main breaker so in the dark walking over to the main breaker wasnt fun. But otherwise I would go back :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterResort, Owner at Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. You're right! When we upgraded your cottage to the larger one with satelite television we just a quick clean to get you in and had missed some things. Sorry about that. And, you are right again, our cottages/park model homes only have 30 amp service so its not like a hotel or your house - sometimes the breakers do blow. We do hope you come back again so you can have another fantastic time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We loved the cottage, pool, very convenient location. The only thing we missed is not much planned activities for kids and the playground was very small and terrible condition as well as the Gazebo. The place was very quiet during our stay. Interior the cottage was nice and clean except for the curtains, which were falling apart. We were happy to have A/C and worked very well. The people taking care of the property were very nice. We have been to different cottages since many years and with some minor improvements, this cottage would be the best. We would go back definitely.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterResort, Manager at Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We hope you are able to make it back to see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

To all the negative reviewers of this resort I must say thank you for I will never have to meet you there.We searched the web, made our reservations and the three of us went(me ,the wife and of course the dog).We found the website very acurate.The wheather the trailer and the other friendly guests all made for a most enjoyable stay and so close to town.Cannot wait to return soon.Thanks again Rick and Shelley

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterResort, Owner at Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Thank you so much for your review of our resort. It really makes us happy to know you had a good time and that we will be seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We had a wonderful time. It was very relaxing. We got to spend time with our daughter, son-in-law and grandkids. They only live 10 minutes away. The resort's hospitality was great. We will be coming back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LancasterResort, Owner at Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Thank you for your review of our resort and all of your kind words. We are glad you had a relaxing time. That is what is vacation is all about.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort

Address: 691 Frank Hill Rd., Peterborough, Ontario K9J 6X3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Peterborough
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Peterborough
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lancaster Cottage & Trailer Resort. We are a Family Resort located in the Kawarthas on Chemong Lake. Our location is great! Only 10 minutes from Peterborough and under 90 minutes from Toronto.We offer year round waterfront cottage rentals and 50 full service seasonal trailer sites. Enjoy fun family activities such as, swimming in our heated in-ground pool, fishing in the weedy Chemong Lake, boating, canoeing, horseshoes, badminton, volleyball, relaxation, and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lancaster Cottage And Trailer Resort Peterborough, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.