We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awful food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Anchor and Wheel Inn

The Anchor and Wheel Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pelee Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Anchor and Wheel Inn
Save
You added The Anchor and Wheel Inn to your Saves list
11 West Shore Drive, Ontario N0R 1M0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 14 Pelee Island B&B and Inns
Kitchener, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“awful food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

A total of $80 for 2, for one of the worst meals we've ever had. The buffet was food obviously reheated from frozen, and nothing was seasoned. The $10 margarita that was made from a mix and overblended was the cherry on top. Lake Erie is known for Pickerel and Perch, and Anchor and Wheel advertises it. The fish was not fresh, and overcooked. I'd think it would probably be cheaper for them to buy fresh over frozen since the supply is so close at hand. Awful dinner.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    7
    3
    6
    5
See reviews for
5
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Forest
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Stayed Sept 16 and 17 2011.We arrived Sept 16 at 1230 and asked if we could check in no problem.
The rooms are basic and the inn it self is a little retro but the rooms are clean as are sheets and towels. The restaurant has a nice natical flavor to it and the meals are pricey.Friday night is Fish FRY night and they have all you can eat perch and walleye which is worth the price and should not be missed if your on the Island.We biked the whole Island in two days and there is much to see.As a lot of the island has gravel roads it would be easier on Mountain Bikes.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Paying before we saw the room should have been a warning. The room was dirty and smelly, we feared all sorts of bugs etc. After a power outage we had no way of flushing the toilet, or using the shower and wash hand basin. Difficult outside stairs up to the room, wet. and dirty, dangerous with a suitcase to carry. We looked out over a camp site and a rundown set of cabins behind the shack.

Room Tip: Next-door room was even smellier than ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

I had never been to Pelee Island before, and I was really looking forward to this trip. We got to the B & B, the bed hadn't been changed yet, so we had to wait and the room key was missing. Finally they changed the bed, and my husband and I went for a bike ride and swim. When we arrived back at the Inn, the room key was in the door, later on that evening we decided to go for a walk, so I locked the room. When we got back I couldn't unlock the door, I told the owner, and he didn't seem to care, emphasizing that the girls take care of that. That struck me as rather odd, since he is the owner, you would think , that the emphasis would be on good customer relations, not this guy. One of the girls got the master key but it didn't work, the owner slammed the door with his shoulder and broke part of the door latch. Finally they found the right key, but for the rest of the night I didn't lock the door, in case I locked myself out, when I had to go to the bathroom. The room was dirty and the continental breakfast was a joke and room no. six had the door hanging of f its frame. The owner had to use a crowbar to get that one open earlier on, something wrong there, two doors in two days. If someone asked me to recommend this place, I would say run as fast and as far as you can, don't go there. Dirty, lousy service and too many bugs.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamorada, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Follow your way around the island and enjoy the beauty it has to offer, the people are great and lots of fun.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, On
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

Over the past 8 yrs we have visited Pelee Island and enjoy the peace, tranquility and nature. We have also stayed at the Anchor and Wheel B& B numerous times. I realize it is no frills and the prices are reasonable....however, the place is just run down and nothing ever gets done to upgrade it. This past experience was the worst.....the room had no mirror even in it, pieces of the blind were missing so we had to hang a towel over the window, the smoke alarm was laying on the bed no battery (same in the room beside us), no towels ever for the shared bathroom (shower door has been broken for years now) and everyone was complaining about the towels. The hospitality of the owner Mark....is pathetic....he has seen us over the years, but doesn't even acknowledge who we are. No hot breakfast...just serve yourself cereal, toast, fruit. He spent all that money adding on a deck...and yet there are no chairs anywhere else on the property to sit and relax (two guys got into a fight on the deck over chairs by the units even)...no garbage bins anywhere. The first night we were freezing when we went to bed...but woke up like we were in a sauna.....as someone had turned off the air conditioning! His main concern is running the restaurant so he should just consider giving up the accomodations side of it......or at least get some more help and spend some money to improve the conditions. If we ever do go back...we will be staying at The Wandering Pheasant.......which we did do in August, and it is wonderful, but alot more expensive. This used to be the Tin Goose Inn and we used to stay there as well, but when it was closed down......our option became the Anchor and Wheel Inn.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

DO NOT STAY HERE ...do yourself a favour and book at the East Park Campground .. The place was filthy .. and I mean disgusting .. beer caps and glass everywhere ..and the washrooms needed to be fumigated or just burnt down .
The owner ( an American ) was rude and obnoxious .. unless of course you found him getting high and drunk at his cottage ..
60.00 for two small tents on one site ..per night ..downright ridiculous ..20.00 at East Park with beach access

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Anchor and Wheel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor and Wheel Inn

Address: 11 West Shore Drive, Ontario N0R 1M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Pelee Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Pelee Island
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
The Anchor And Wheel Hotel Pelee Island
The Anchor And Wheel Inn Pelee Island, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anchor and Wheel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.