We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a barbeque joint” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camp 31 Bar-B-Q

Camp 31 Bar-B-Q
22 Paris Road, Paris, Ontario N3L 3H8, Canada
519-442-3560
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 29 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Barbecue
Good for: Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“It's a barbeque joint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I hadn't been there for a few years, but still had fond memories of peanut shells on the floor. They're still there. Son and girlfriend took me out last Saturday evening, and I made a [recommended] reservation. The table was ready for us. PLAIN tables, and very rough looking booths, with non moving benches. Remember, this is a SOUTHERN barbeque joint. No grilled steaks that I remember. This is southern fried chicken, pulled pork, smoked/barbequed brisket and ribs....both back and side ribs. They had added a liquor licence since I was last there, and their locally brewed draft beer is excellent and well priced. The fried pickles and onion straws as appetizers were fantastic [with exceptionally high marks for the pickles] My combo of ribs, pulled pork and brisket, with real mashed potatos and a so-so gravy, beans on the side, was mouth watering. Son just kept going on and on about the brisket and excellent fries [beans on the side] and girlfriend loved the pulled pork, coleslaw and green salad, balsamic dressing on the side.
This is a place to go with jeans on and have a heck of a good time and a heck of a good meal, with friendly and quick service [remember, we had a reservation]. Some folks lined up at the door had to wait for a while.
This is reminiscent of barbeque joints I have been to in the deep south. Only thing they have down there that Camp 31 didn't have was big never ending glasses of iced tea, a staple of the south.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    35
    15
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great theme, food was average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Wish I could give them a higher rating but my meal wasn't exceptional or excellent...it was average. After hearing about the place I went for lunch with a friend. The southern BBQ theme & decoration is great for such a small space, service was much better than the meal. Ordered a lunch special and to be honest it wasn't hot, it was warm...not what I was expecting. The flavours were very good, which is what I was expecting. I really want to like this place and I hope things have improved on my next visit.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Love it here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We drive down at least once a month to get our BBQ fix. The food is always great, I'm a ribs person but my wife trys everything and has never been disappointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Delicious BBQ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Went here today with my wife for lunch. I had the brisket broil & she had fried chicken sandwich. Huge portions, delicious flavour & relaxed atmosphere. I'll be heading back this weekend for another epic feast!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“mmm BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We have been coming here for years ..the pulled pork and ribs are fantastic, great atmosphere for families our 3 year old loves it! The pan bread is yummy too! Good Value, Reasonable prices!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camp 31 Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Camp 31 Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camp 31 Bar-B-Q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.