We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2400 Alert Road, Ottawa, Ontario K1V 1S1, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get Free Breakfast for 4!
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night when in town for a family event. This is a very new hotel, and as a Hilton Garden Inn it is under their more affordable, value category of the Hilton chain. If you have to fly out of the Ottawa airport or need to stay in the Hunt Club area or south east Ottawa, you can't go wrong. The rooms are huge, for starters. Modern, clean and bright, there was loads of room to move around the place. Nowadays, it is hard to find spacious hotel rooms, especially in new hotels, which tend to choose density over comfort. Our only complaint about the room were the shower heads were placed a little high in the shower. It is as if with the size of the rooms and the height of the shower heads, they are expecting to house basketball teams! Nevertheless, the shower head height issue was not major, just unusual. The pool area, also very clean, was bright and well-maintained. There is a comfie lounge in the lobby where you can watch tv and also monitor your flight on an arrivals and departure screen for the airport, literally bordering on the hotel. The front desk and restaurant staff were exceptionally professional. They really went out of their way to show us where things were, etc. The restaurant staff were on par with the treatment we have had in 5-star restaurants; all this for a less than $10 breakfast! The coffee was so good, we took "travellers" (refills to go), which we rarely do. Usually, we are looking for the nearest Starbucks. Honestly, 5-star hotels in the Hilton chain could take lessons in hospitality excellence from the staff of this hotel. Take note, Hilton, these people represent you well - we hope you reward them aptly!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonHunter, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you were able to experience our world class hospitality. We take pride in having a great team that love their jobs. We believe that happy staff make happy customers. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    165
    34
    16
    5
See reviews for
133
91
44
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Breakfast should be free, guests should be treated well, it wouldn't make a difference to get a king size bed or double queen. Reception should not make advantage of guests. Fridge in room is not working and empty and it should be full.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonHunter, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. We have 2 breakfast options at the hotel. $6.95 gives you a deluxe continental breakfast and $12.95 provides for a full hot buffet. Within the Hilton Family of hotels, there are a few brands that provide a complimentary breakfast including Homewood Suites and Hampton Inn by Hilton. In regards to your room type preference, I will attempt to contact you to get further clarification. Lastly, I have sent maintenance to your room and it seems to be functioning. If it was a mini bar that you were looking for, we do not provide this service. The mini fridge is there for your convenience to keep your personal items cold.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aireys Inlet, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The service was quick and friendly. Hotel perfectly adequate. I was especially pleased with the free wi fi which was fast and easy to hook up. I didn't use most of the hotel's facilities in the one night I was there, so I don't really need to use up the minimum 200 characters.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonHunter, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Safe travels wherever they should take you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We booked a room at the Hilton Garden Inn for a wedding we were attending in the Ottawa area. The rate was comparable to other lower quality hotels. We arrived at the hotel almost midnight after getting lost (not the fault of the hotel at all - our Google directions were unclear). When checking in I meant to ask about an upgrade but I was so tired I forgot. My sister, who was also there and arrived a few days before me, asked for an upgrade and got a larger room with a sofa sleeper. Even without the upgrade our room was also quite large and very well appointed with a king bed, desk with chair and a reading chair with ottoman and lamp. I am very happy that the bedside lamps had 2 bulbs which gives you enough light for reading. Another wonderful plus is that there are MANY outlet plugs available and not hidden behind a bed or table. (HUGE THANKS FOR THAT!)

The bathroom is LARGE and also well lit. And the mirror on the wall in the bathroom is very large as well! My husband and I are both over 6' tall and the shower head is positioned well above our heads which made it very nice for showering. Many hotels forget there are tall people and we often have had to bend down or crouch when showering. Water temperature is good, as is pressure. Towels are large and not rough like I find at other hotels. There is a lot of counter space in the bathroom AND, also a huge plus, a nightlight which comes in very handy for those middle of the night trips when you are half asleep in unfamiliar surroundings.

They put cookies out at the check in desk around 5pm every day. On Saturday morning we noticed pastries there. There is a business center where you can use the computer and print boarding passes or directions. There's a restaurant in the lobby but we were disappointed to find out it was not open Saturdays for lunch. If you ask the front desk they will give you suggestions for other places to eat nearby. We ate dinner at the restaurant in the lobby one night and I found the selections lacking. There were no chicken options and the only sandwiches were burgers or corned beef. A turkey club or even a BLT would have been nice. I got a chicken caesar salad and the chicken was dry so I can't say I would give a recommendation of the restaurant, but Moxie's nearby had lots more options and was very good.

I ran into the housekeeper on our floor one day and she seemed in a bad mood - it was late afternoon and she had not gotten to our room yet. She kinda complained about having to work late which I found disconcerting (guests should not have to hear this stuff). Even though we checked in quite late, the front desk clerk had given me some cookies on a small plate and I noticed the housekeeper never removed the empty plate from our room during the entire time we were there. But the room was overall cleaned well and our request for additional pillows was fulfilled.

The beds are EXTREMELY comfortable and in case you miss the sign on the check in counter, the bed firmness is adjustable. There is a button on each side of the bed where you can adjust if you like FIRM or SOFT and a few options inbetween. One thing that really bothers me is that even on the coolest setting, the a/c does seem to cut off during the night which is distressing, especially for menopausal women who need very cool sleep environments. I do find most hotels have this issue and it is quite disruptive to my sleep when traveling.

The WI-FI is free and works great. And they provide shuttle service to/from Ottawa airport. Just make sure to check the hours the shuttle runs.

Overall the HGI was fabulous. The hotel has a pool and a small workout room. There is ample parking - even returning very late at night I could always find a place to park although the spaces are quite narrow which causes some cars to take up 2 spaces. There is some kind of construction happening at the street entrance but it didn't cause any problems or delays during my stay when arriving at or leaving the hotel.

I would definitely stay here again. Next time I will try to remember to ask for an upgrade although it would be lovely if they automatically offer it to their guests who are HHonors members.

Room Tip: I always ask for upper floor away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonHunter, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your incredible review. We appreciate our guests sharing their experiences. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel when your travels bring you back to Ottawa. WE hope you enjoyed the wedding as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantagenet, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We took the hotel for family reasons as opposed to our travel. The hotel itself is outstanding, clean, well organized and, as it is beside the airport, most important, quiet.
All staff greeted us with a smile and a hello and this includes maintenance and service personnel.
The driver of the shuttle to the airport went out of his way to help our son and his wife and family get to the airport and even made a special run to pick up an item that was inadvertently left behind in the confusion of getting two young children organized.
The only thing that would be beneficial is a sitting area outside of the spa area where the door does not lock behind you.

Room Tip: As this was our first visit we can not make any recommendations
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonHunter, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback. We are so pleased you got to experience our amazing customer service. We pride ourselves on having an outstanding team. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed here 5 nights while visiting family. Hotel functional, rooms clean, very large room, and staff was pleasant and helpful. Coffee pot, sink, mini fridge and counter top allowed for preparing own light breakfast as breakfast is not included with Garden Inns. Self laundry facilities were excellent, and same day dry cleaning was available although it needed to be delivered to the front desk. Room faced airport runway about 200 meters away but did not notice any noise from aircraft. Facility is more of a business man's airport stopover rather than a leisure traveler's hotel. Parking was tight and driveway entrance is temporary due to construction of some sort of extension. Next time more liable to try nearby Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonHunter, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed our great hospitality during your stay. We also are pleased you noticed our state of the art windows that allow you to watch the planes fom your room without hearing them. We were very full during your stay so I am sorry if you felt that parking was very full. We do however have overflow parking right next to our parking lots for about 400 more cars, so parking should never be an issue. Safe travels back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Terrific in every way...and surprisingly excellent food. Great staff. Clean, spacious rooms. Clean air. Just a plus in every way, deserving of your stay. You cannot go wrong. The best airport hotel I believe I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonHunter, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. The 3 things we pride ourselves in the most are the cleanliness of our hotel, the quality of our customer service and our world class cuisine. Thank you for noticing and taking the time to tell the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport

Address: 2400 Alert Road, Ottawa, Ontario K1V 1S1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#6 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport hotel in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, you'll find everything you want, right where you need it. The Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Ontario hotel is located five minutes west of the Ottawa MacDonald Cartier International Airport and 15 minutes to downtown Ottawa. The hotel is completely soundproof. The Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Ontario Airport hotel is certain to please the busy executive or leisure traveler. The Hilton Garden Inn in Ottawa is designed with you in mind, and offers the following services: Garden Grille and Bar, Evening Room Service Available, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store, Pavilion Lounge, Complimentary shuttle service and self parking (Park and Fly rates available!), Complimentary business center, Complimentary wired and wireless Internet access throughout entire hotel, including guest rooms, Indoor heated pool and whirlpool, Complimentary Exercise Room, 7,200 sq. ft. state-of-the-art banquet facilities, Complimentary morning paper, Valet and self-laundry available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.