We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Airport Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2400 Alert Road, Ottawa, Ontario K1V 1S1, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Yellowknife, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Airport Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed her upon airport arrival for one evening before departing the next morning. Hotel staff was very friendly and checked me in very quick. Were also helpful with directions.
King room was very big. I was impressed by the large, clean room and bathroom. Bed was very comfortable.
The room seemed a little pricey, but overall a great stay. Would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    149
    30
    15
    3
See reviews for
121
80
37
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Let me get start by getting two "nits" out of the way. I never thought I would mention that a hotel's room is too big. Ours was, only because there was about 20% of the room at one end with no furniture. It felt empty. I would have them put in a love seat. Second nit, no newspaper delivery to my door because I've recently fallen back to "blue" status from "gold" in their HHonors program.–but the two rooms across from me got theirs. Memo to corporate, this seems petty while it won't entice me to rise to silver or gold status.

Not the good stuff. I was struck by the very warm atmosphere in the expansive lobby. Numerous comfy chair and couch conversation areas around the fireplace. Also, I really like the corridors upstairs. A light beige wallpaper theme with a brightly colored carpet. Gives you a nice feeling as you step off the elevator, enroute to your room.

Our room was well appointed and the king bed comfortable with excellent bedside reading lighting. The bathroom had a conveniently long marble counter. Lots of fluffy towels. While the window looked out on the airport runway, soundproofing made airplane sound not a factor.

Continental breakfast you get for $7 is a great deal and the restaurant/bar a very pleasant space. Staff throughout the property was friendly and responsive.

The only downside was the temperature. We could't get it below 21º C (70ºF) and we like coolness to sleep in. Covers off and on all night long did not make for a good sleep. The staff explained that the AC is turned off in winter and that, if anything, the room is too cool!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed here on a quick trip to Ottawa (less than a day). Arrived at around 1 AM and the staff was attentive and my room was still available. The hotel was just off the airport property, so it was a quick cab ride to get there. Room was large and comfortable. Only issue was that a few of the TV stations had “grainy” reception.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

This chain is always a pleasant stay. The nice surprise was the skill of the breakfast chef.
Room was clean and spacious. They also updated the bathrooms recently which is always a nice touch.
Location is right outside the airport entrance so you don't have to leave extra early.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonHunter, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed your positive feedback on to our Executive Chef so that he may congratulate the chef in question. Our chefs have the creative freedom to create a daily breakfast, lunch and dinner special. It is very popular among our regular guests. We look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed at the Ottawa Hilton Garden Inn for 1 night, Saturday November 24. We never considered an airport hotel when we travelled to Ottawa to visit my mother. We are kicking ourselves! Not only were we within 10 minutes, but it was everything we needed, the room was huge (2 queen + sofa bed), extras were unexpected but appreciated (lap desk, comfortable desk chair, cookies at reception, free coffee/tea available) and it was very quiet - more so than being downtown. We were used to going downtown and spending money for parking, money for coffee, and having to get on the highway to go everywhere. Not any more, we found a new homebase in Ottawa. The mattresses had a dial to personalize each side for firmness!! How great is that! The breakfast was fantastic and the kids loved the pool (we had it to ourselves), not big enough for laps, but big enough for two kids to have fun. We had a room facing the airport which, for our family, was another bonus. Staff were efficient and friendly. We have no complaints at all and would recommend this property for anyone planning a trip to Ottawa, not just going to the airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonHunter, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
We are so glad that you discovered our hotel and very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Our owner recognizes that when people are travelling, they are often away from home many nights a year, so he builds very spacious hotel rooms for our guests to enjoy. I am pleased that our hotel was able to offer you all the amenities you were looking for. We are equipped to accomodate the business traveller as well as a family on vacation. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you come to visit your mother or even if it is just for a vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

we stayed here one night after a gruelling 32 hours returning from a trip trip to Austalia so that we would be refreshed before tackling our 2 hour drive home. The hotel is 5 minutes from the airport and is super clean and has everything in terms of work out facilities, free wifi, good parking and a restaurant. The staff are extremely polite and helpful and the room we had was large and very clean. We have a couple of suggestions for the hotel. One, the thermostat in the room is set and we couldn't change the temperature so were very hot during the night (incidentally, we are in Canada and the temperature should be in Celsius). The duvet on the bed felt like polyester so that made it seem even warmer in the room. I am a tea drinker and couldn't get a kettle for our room and was advised to use the warm water jug as available in the lobby or use the coffee maker - clearly no one there drinks tea! Due to jet lag, we overslept and missed breakfast as the restaurant closes between 10 and 11:30 so they can set up for lunch ...not very convenient for an airport hotel. We ate dinner the previous night at the hotel and the service was excellent and the food better than we expected from an airport hotel. The only negative is the price - very expensive for what you get and there isn't another restaurant within walking distance. So if you are tired from travelling and just want to stay put for dinner, then you'll get a good meal there but an expensive one - $32 for a 6 oz steak with fries. All in all, this hotel is good but expect to pay more for the food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonHunter, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us after such a long travel experience. We take our guest feedback very seriously and when I read of your plight to make some tea, I immediately took action. You will be happy to know that upon your next visit to the hotel, we now have some tea kettles for guest use. In terms of your restaurant experience, I am sorry if you felt that is was expensive. Our dinner menu has an array of choices for all budgets. Yes, our steak is $32 but it is sterling silver beef which is the highest quality you can get. Our pricing is very competitive in the Ottawa market. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Friendly staff, huge and clean rooms, fast and free Internet, good selection of TV channels, close enough to downtown. Comfortable beds. Mini fridge in room. Good breakfast, so-so for dinner. Free daily newspaper in the lobby. Will likely stay there again in January when flying via YOW.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport

Address: 2400 Alert Road, Ottawa, Ontario K1V 1S1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport hotel in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, you'll find everything you want, right where you need it. The Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Ontario hotel is located five minutes west of the Ottawa MacDonald Cartier International Airport and 15 minutes to downtown Ottawa. The hotel is completely soundproof. The Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Ontario Airport hotel is certain to please the busy executive or leisure traveler. The Hilton Garden Inn in Ottawa is designed with you in mind, and offers the following services: Garden Grille and Bar, Evening Room Service Available, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store, Pavilion Lounge, Complimentary shuttle service and self parking (Park and Fly rates available!), Complimentary business center, Complimentary wired and wireless Internet access throughout entire hotel, including guest rooms, Indoor heated pool and whirlpool, Complimentary Exercise Room, 7,200 sq. ft. state-of-the-art banquet facilities, Complimentary morning paper, Valet and self-laundry available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.