We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food, but kind of Expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zuni Grill

Zuni Grill
269 Greenbank Road, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
613-828-3890
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #218 of 2,149 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: International, Fusion, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Nepean, Ontario
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, but kind of Expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I used to eat here regularly when it was under the former owners. The quality of food is just as good, and maybe a little better, but portions seem to have become smaller. I had one of the evening specials, jumbo shrimp with mango salsa topping, sauteed vegetables and rice. The sauteed vegetables were quite creative and delicious, the advertised rice pilaw was just steamed rice. The jumbo shrimp were fairly large, attractively plated, but I don't think three shrimp make a twenty-dollar entree. Total bill with a nice draft Creemore ale thirty dollars, plus tip. Good, but no bargain.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food, charming decor, excellent prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We had dinner here tonight.. The place has the same quirkily charming décor it had before, and the menu, although different under the new owners, is still intriguingly eclectic. We found the food very good, and enjoyed the caring and friendly couple who cooked and served us. We also loved that it was a quiet and relaxing place to eat on a Saturday night.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Butte, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous, Fresh, Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I arrived at this restaurant at 13:30 and the chef/owner showed me to a table and gave me a menu. He set up a little heater beside me because it was a little chilly and advised me of the daily special, which I ordered. He brought my green tea immediately and I could hear him preparing the food while I drank. Five minutes later the most beautiful salad appeared before me, all freshly chopped and elegantly arranged on the plate. It was crispy, colourful and delicious. Then the main dish arrived, you could smell the spices wafting off the plate and it made my mouth water. It was one of, if not the best curry I have ever had. This is one of those places that the food far outweighs the decor. Do not miss it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I just had lunch at Zuni Cafe, and it is a little gem waiting to be explored. It wasn't too busy which was a good thing and a shame at the same time.I'm not sure if folks know about this place, but it was great to get in, seated and served right away for Friday lunch.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tasty food, pleasant dining experience, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We've been there five or six times over the years but this was the first time since the new owners took over. The dinner menu has changed but continues to be interesting. Although limited it offers a surprising variety of food. I had a spicy Mediterranean pasta and my wife had the buttered chicken. Both were very good, and particularly well seasoned. The ingredients were fresh. We were able to get wine by the half litre. The room decor is funky in a good way. It was quiet! In total, the bill was just over $50. Very decent I thought. We look forward to going back for breakfast or lunch. I think this place is a real find despite its location in a small strip mall on Greenbank. Once inside, it's all good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zuni Grill also viewed

 

Been to Zuni Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zuni Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.