We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brunch that exceeds high expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stoneface Dolly's

Stoneface Dolly's
416 Preston street, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #186 of 2,222 Restaurants in Ottawa
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Contemporary, Eclectic, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Pakenham, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Brunch that exceeds high expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I'd been hearing good things about this place, and now that I've finally made it there for a meal I can say that it exceeded expectations. From a funky vibe when you enter to friendly and efficient staff, this place makes a good impression right away. The menu has some interesting twists on classic brunch items as is loaded with fresh local ingredients and tantalizing fare. The portions are generous, the food is delicious, and the atmosphere is cozy and inviting.

Make sure you have something with their own molasses bread; it's absolutely outstanding.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    46
    15
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Brunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Once again Trip Advisor did not disappoint. This was a truly great brunch. We expected a bit of a wait based on other comments {it ended up being about 40 minutes all together} but it was well worth it! An eclectic and delicious looking menu..freshly ground coffee and fresh squeezed OJ, freshly baked breads! I took the advice of another Trip Advisor reviewer and ordered the chicken bobotie....OMG ~ it was incredible! Not overly appealing looking, but truly a spectacular dish. My brunch companion had the Pesto, tomato, mushroom and gorgonzola omelet....although I didn't try it, she said it was wonderfully savory and she LOVED the molasses toast. I'm sorry that we don't live closer to enjoy this wonderful place again and again...as I am quite certain I would be a regular. Do yourself a favor and check it out!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One of the best Ottawa has on offer. Amazing food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have been to Stoneface Dolly's about 10 times in the past 3 years. There is always a bit of a wait for the weekend brunch - but well worth it! They make their own bread and OJ, and everything on the menu is 5 star. The specials are usually unique and delicious. My favourite though is hands down the eggs benedict - every way! Although there is a chicken bobotie benedict that is spectacular!!! A specialty from the owner's homeland (South Africa). It may look strange, but try it and that's all you're order from then on!

The coffee is also incredible - fresh ground and they serve the latte's in a bowl the way I like it! Staff are extraordinary for service standards.

This is a MUST visit in Ottawa - one of the best in town.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Fantastic brunch. ONE OF THE BEST FRENCH TOAST I ever had.
They made their own banana bread for the French Toast... Congratulations to SDF for the creativity.
Eggs beni... Just ok.... They should get the French toast "chef" to create the eggs beni.
Busy brunch, be prepare to wait, however it's worth it. Parking is on street and busy as well.
I keep craving SDF French toast....
Cheers!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food - try the yam chips!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Excellent restaurant! great for breakfast, lunch or dinner! i've never had a bad experience at this restaurant. the atmosphere is nice and staff friendly.
This is one of the few restaurants in the area that offer an interesting breakfast.
For desert i strongly suggest the key lime pie!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stoneface Dolly's also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
Kanata, Ottawa
 

Been to Stoneface Dolly's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoneface Dolly's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.