We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious vegan and vegetarian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Table

The Table
1230 Wellington St West, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
613 729 5973
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #106 of 2,215 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Vegan, Vegetarian, Organic
Restaurant details
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Delicious vegan and vegetarian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

When I decided to go vegan for health reasons, I found it difficult to find a restaurant that specialised in healthy vegan options. In Ottawa/Gatineau, I have tried La belle verte, the Green Door and then I found The Table. What I like about this place is that above every dish they list every ingredient. The chefs are constantly coming out of the kitchen with fresh dishes from different ethnicities. It is a bit cafeteria style. You take a glass plate, pile on it what you want to eat and at the end, your plate is weighed. Mine is always between $15.00 and $20.00. For some people this may be a little pricey. But if you are looking for fresh, wholesome vegan or vegetarian food, it is worth it. Every day there is a soup for $4.00 a bowl which you can accompany with a thick slice of homemade bread. It opens at 11:30 am.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    24
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great Food for even us Non-vegetarians”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and I had lunch at The Table today and I was thoroughly impressed with the quality of the food choices and their wonderful taste. We are not vegetarians and this is a vegetarian restaurant. The food is set up as a buffet selection and the kitchen staff are constantly bringing out freshly prepared food so nothing sits for long. Their chefs prepare the food just the way I like. My green beans, red cabbage and asperagus were not over-cooked nor under cooked. The brown rice was slightly under cooked but still very good. The salad bar was all fresh produce and delicious. Every dish has a full description of the ingredients so you know precisely what is going into your body.

I will definitely return there.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Everything is good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Everything we ate here was really good - not one thing disappointed! Nice, helpful staff and good food. I like the pay by weight thing, makes it so we can load up the plates with a little of everything instead of committing to just one dish. I also loved all the info and labels on each dish. The tabouli salad was a refreshing delight! I didn't see a ton of drink options, but the stuff they did offer was good. Definitely recommend checking this place out!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Vegetarian Oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Good vegetarian cuisine cafeteria style - pick what you know you like and sample what you think you might like - it is all by weight so you are not risking much. Large room with basic tables, chairs and friendly ambiance; reasonably priced and good food.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

On my recent trip to Ottawa, I stopped in at The Table. It is very similar to The Green Door - cafeteria style, pay by weight, home-style vegan/vegetarian food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Table also viewed

 
 

Been to The Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Table, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.