We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, Gracious host” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jericho

Jericho
285 Bank st, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #164 of 2,222 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Lebanese, Middle Eastern
Restaurant details
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food, Gracious host”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I have always enjoyed my meals here not just because of the good food and the DELICIOUS rose-water iced tea but also because of the wonderful host and the his artwork that surrounds you.

Highly recommended: Baba Ghanouj, Rose-water iced tea

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very Quaint and Friendly Neighbourhood Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

This place is great. We only recently put it back into our rotation when dining out and I can't figure out why we stopped in the first place. Omar, the co-owner is always upbeat and more than willing to discuss his dishes when asked. He even told me his secret for making his kaftas so tender and fluffy, unlike mine when I make them which are dense and rigid. I'll keep it a secret.
The menu is small and traditional, but every offering is done to perfection. On numerous past visits, when Omar finds out that it is a special occasion for someone at the table, he is quick with a complimentary dessert. The prices are extremely reasonable. Last night's dinner for two including a litre of red and a generous tip was $70. Oh, you can also phone in and order from the take-out menu. Your order will be ready before you get there, and it is the same quality ....

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great Lebanese food that's not a snack bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Very interesting decor, wonderful service, but what is most important is the ingredients are always so fresh.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Glebe Lebonese Neighbourhood Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We often go here for lunch on Sundays. Great hummus and falafal. Also a kid menu with the usual. Service is always good and the interior is full of beautiful Lebanese art.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“superb gem -- and peace between Israeli and Palestinian, who knew?!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

Great little place, stained glass on the walls, a souk in the midst of Ottawa's Glebe. The hummus was great, the combo plates interesting and the arabic coffee spicy. Lunch for 4, with a bottle of (drinkable) house wine, less than $90.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jericho also viewed

 

Been to Jericho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jericho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.