We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dinner to go” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horn Of Africa

Horn Of Africa
364 Rideau St, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 5Y8, Canada
(613) 789-0025
Improve this listing
Ranked #526 of 2,142 restaurants in Ottawa
Restaurant details
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I ordered the Abesynian platter for one person to go, it was amazing and really fast! It's a combination of beef, chicken, lamb and vegetarian dishes and it includes injera bread. Everything tasted really good, some of the meat dishes were very spicy, but the veggie ones balance out the spiciness. The price is reasonable. Totally recommend this place and would be going back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    4
    17
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“young man at the desk at our hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

raved about this place. We were a bit skeptical, as we were not sure he shared our taste. But what a fabulous experience. Ethiopian restaurants--injeera with lovely vegetables and pulses. Very attentive service, even though we couldn't understand everything the waiter said. We loved the plate itself, and the lentils and carrots and cabbage. One vegetarian plate and one mixed platter was more than enough for two of us. Very generous wine offering. Quiet, although the television was on. Really-- a don't miss. Unprepossessing--but with excellent food. And very good value! This is quite different from what you get on the beaten path. Go for it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I absolutely love this restaurant. We ordered the mixed platter and it was a lot of food for only $18 for the platter. The service was great and fast. It is truly a dining experience and should be a must when visiting Ottawa.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, WI
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“good food, eaten with hands, shared with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We really enjoyed our meal here. I had forgotten to review this for some time now. We had a great meal here that was served community style. We ordered several dishes and they all showed up on one big platter with the famous Ethiopian "bread" underneath and on the side. Our waitress was very helpful in making suggestions for some of our crew that had not eaten Ethiopian food previously. This is one of those "hole in the wall" places that is a real find. We would all go back again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“The food is good, dirt cheap and eaten with fingers. It's not finger food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

First time at Ethiopian food. Funky affect, eating without utensils. We had mixed, chicken, beef, lamb and vegetables. I thought each was good and the lentils were very good. The "bread" is strange, but doesn't taste that way. It's a spongy pancake. It seems to work as well as many. A fork would have made a lot more sense, but that's not part of the landscape. It was cheap, good and tasty.

Sure, it's as spartan as ancient Greece.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horn Of Africa also viewed

Ottawa, Ontario
Richmond, Ottawa
 

Been to Horn Of Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horn Of Africa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.