We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice little neighbourhood find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of the urban pear

the urban pear
second avenue, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada (The Glebe / Dow's Lake)
613-569-9305
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #444 of 2,288 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: The Glebe / Dow's Lake
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A nice little neighbourhood find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had a very nice meal at this restaurant. It took me a while to venture there-the appearance looks somewhat uninviting (facing onto a parking lot) but I have heard lots of favourable reviews on the food. Our choices included scallops, duck and risotto. Scallops and the risotto were very good. The duck was somewhat tough, although flavourful. The ambience is surprisingly nice inside, but it could benefit from adding blinds or shutters to block the car lights from the lot.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    25
    18
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great brunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went to Urban Pear for brunch with a couple of friends. Lots of good things to say about the place! The home made bread and caramelized onions butter was great. Menu had tons of great items and I'd definitely go again to try different things. Had the poached eggs served with hollandaise on striploin - really really good!

Only thing keeping this from being a 5 star review is price (a bit pricy, 22$ for a brunch plate is a bit much), as well as service. Both waiters that helped us looked like this was the last place they wanted to be. Unfortunate because the food was great!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Remarkable Culinary Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We went for our wedding anniversary. It was a Wednesday evening. The place was relatively quiet. So we had very attentive service. Not that we know if during the weekend, it is less so. But as a rule, when a restaurant is full, staff are in hurry. We had chosen this place for its good reputation. Having been around for a number of years, the Urban Pear has deservedly acquired a good reputation for its imaginative cuisine. We were enjoyably surprised. The food was definitely beyond our expectations. Our waiter was very friendly and knowledgeable. A culinary experience that is well worth the visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Always pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I have been to this restaurant about 10 times over the last two-three years and each time they manage to impress me. The menu has very few items on it, maybe 6 starter choices and 6 main menu choices, but it changes frequently. Most importantly, it combines flavors like no other restaurant in Ottawa. Its only shortcoming is the dessert menu - very basic. But I always order a starter and a main, knowing that I will love both and be too full for dessert. If you still want dessert, you can always take a short walk to Von's Bistro and have their chocolate pecan pie!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa Ont.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Food Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I have visited the Urban Pear on many occasions and the service, the presentation and most importantly the food at the Urban Pear is exceptional. This is one of the top dining spots in Canada. You know I was looking on Trip Advisor for somewhere different to dine this evening but I just decided - I'm heading to The Pear. I'm worth it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the urban pear also viewed

 

Been to the urban pear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the urban pear, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.