We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent place, good service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stella Osteria

Stella Osteria
81 Clarence st., Ottawa, Ontario K1N 5P5, Canada
613-241-2200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #600 of 2,142 restaurants in Ottawa
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Vegetarian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: William
Transit: Many transit stops in the immediate vicinity
Description: “DELICIOUS…SUCCULENT…PERFECTLY COOKED…BEAUTIFUL DÉCOR… EXCITING ATMOSPHERE” The Ottawa Citizen Stella is beautiful inside and out. Whether dining on the roof top, or seated in one of the cozy banquettes, Stella serves superbly presented modern Italian cuisine…rooted in tradition. Stella Osteria has thrived amidst the energy and excitement of Ottawa's downtown core since 2006. Draped in a stylish atmosphere and surrounded by a feel of contemporary Italian elegance, Stella Osteria offers patrons a fresh and memorable dining experience like no other.Every meal is expertly prepared and made to order using only the best and freshest ingredients. The menu boasts the finest in both Italian classics and contemporary dishes, complimented by our outstanding level of service. The delectable menu has been paired with an AWARD WINNING WINE LIST, and a large selection of specialty cocktails. During summer months Stella Osteria also offers a beautiful summer rooftop patio perched above the hustle and flow of Clarence Street. ONE OF CANADA’S BEST PLACE TO DINE – Enroute Magazine “CHEEKY COCKTAILS” – Porter Airlines
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“decent place, good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I hadn't been here since summer, and had great memories of the ambiance of their patio and very pleasant lunches there.

The interior decor is lovely as well, and I have always found the service friendly, attentive and professional.

Food was fine - but nothing special about it. Some Italian standards decently prepared. It looks like a high end Italian restaurant, but the food is Italian pub fare.

It would be nice to see them focus more on the quality and creativity of the food, since it is nicely located and has a lot going for it already.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

56% Recommend
    28
    43
    26
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Very enjoyable. A Good variety of different types of food. Friendly staff! Great for get togethers with friends/family or a night out.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good Service but messed up cold food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

5 of us dined at Stella's last evening. The server was very attentive but spend most of the evening aplogizing for the food. 4 out of 5 of us ordered the filet. All plates were served plated wrong - those that ordered fries received roasted potatoes and vice versa. The brocollini that was served with the steaks was ice cold. One of the steaks that was ordered medium rare was served so rare it was blue. They compensated by bringing a second dish of starch to all, bringing the one steak back to grill further and by bringing a massive plate of fresh steamed brocollini. Problem is the steak and the brocollini was returned after eveyone had finished their dinners. They offered free desserts for all but we all declined. The manager was by to deliver the replacement vegetables but never apologized for the issues. I should add that the 5th dinner and he appetizers were fine.
In the end the server came over with the tab saying that the manager removed 2 out of 3 appetitizers that we had ordered - not sure why they didn't remove the 3rd??

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My daughters and I had dinner here earlier this month. The restaurant was beautiful and even though our table was in the middle of the section, we didn't get bumped or jogged.. I hate that! Our server was attentive and friendly. We each ordered differnent foods but I'm sure mine was the best! I had the short rib gnocchi... it was to die for!!! It was an excellent evening.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Deplorable”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We recieved a gift certificate from our daughters for Stella's so we decided to go Nov.12, 2012. It was ahorrible experience! It started of okay with a pleasant greeting at the door and we were directed to the bar while waiting for our table. We were serve graciously by the bartender while waiting. After a few minutes we were shown to our table. Thats when it went south real quick. The waitress tried her best providing pleasant serviceder the cuccumstances. We froze! The waitress went to the bar manager who stated he would adjust the temperature but it never seemed to happen. We watched as several patrons put thier sweaters and coats back on to fight the chills. After freezing for almost 45 minute waiting for our entrees the waitress appologized and went to the bar manager yet again over the temperature and the extended wait for calamari and a ceasar salad. Bar manager picked up the tab for that after yet another apology. Both of us decided to order a coffee try and get something to warm us; bad mistake it was luke warm to say the least and my shot of Bailey's disappeared in the bottom of the glass which couldn't have been an once at all. Moving on we patiently waited yet another 45-50 minutes for the prawn platter and apsaragus stuffed chicken breast. My chicken breast was a little warm but the fries were cold and hard as rock. My wife left half her prawns as they were not fully cooked and couldn't be removed from the tails and were also cold when served. Needless to say we will never evr make the mistake of attending the restaurant again. I won't even go into the noise level in the place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stella Osteria also viewed

 

Been to Stella Osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stella Osteria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.