We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You should eat here....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elgin Street Diner

Elgin Street Diner
374 Elgin St, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 1J7, Canada
(613) 237-9700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 2,142 restaurants in Ottawa
Price range: $3 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“You should eat here....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Visiting our son in Ottawa. He wanted to visit and we have seen this on TV. Was worth the mile walk from our hotel. A bit of a line up late morning on Saturday. Prompt service, friendly waiters, staff and owners interacting with clients. Food was great diner food. Good portions.. Good value

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    100
    95
    61
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NEW HAMPSHIRE
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Fast service, food well prepared, fair prices. If I am ever in Ottawa again I would definitely return to this diner

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“good food, fast service, open 24 hours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is what a diner should be like. FOrget the "chains". The salads are great, the main meals have too many fries (but they ARE good). The gravy is dark and delicious, obviosly atarting from a great mirepoix. I had liver and onions, which only happens to me once in a blue moon and it was delicious. There is a full poutine menu, which may be good for those with iron arteries.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Ontario
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Had a late lunch with my mom and teens staying in hotel nearby. Had seen this spot on Ya Gotta Eat Here. Mom loved her smoked meat sandwich, daughter grilled chicken, and son burger. We all loved the pile of delicious and unique fries. I had the poutine but it wasn't my fav, great amount of cheese and fries but the black gravy just didn't cut it. I ate at least half though. Service was really friendly. Good value for the price.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A good hearty breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The real deal. Eggs over-easy, bacon, ham and sausage. Good thing it's several blocks to our hotel, to walk of the calories, but well worth the stroll.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elgin Street Diner also viewed

 

Been to Elgin Street Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elgin Street Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.