We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch with Friends” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Zak's Diner

Zak's Diner
16 Sq Byward Market, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 7A1, Canada (Byward Market Area)
(613) 241-2401
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #297 of 2,218 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: American, Diner, Hamburgers, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Byward Market Area
Pembroke, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lunch with Friends”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Lunch today with some friends. Fast and friendly service - had the Banquet burger, - not the best burger ever, cold bun and nothing special about it. My wife had the breakfast burrito- good but the sausages were the best part if the meal. Overall not a bad experience- would have the all day breakfast next time.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    123
    62
    31
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is a simple place, nothing fancy. The food is tasty and filling. Service is young and friendly. Open 24/7, Zac's is a fun place for a late night bite or early morning chow. Great location in the Byward Market - very, very family friendly. Give it a try.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Curly Fries and Burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Zak's has always been known to us students as the go-to place for burgers. To me however, Zak's represented the pinnacle of curly fries and onion rings. Some of the best I've ever had and very big portions. The burgers are second in my book but definitely taste great. Just don't go here for breakfast as there are MUCH better options in Ottawa for that. Oh and by the way.. the waiter/waitress' can be a bit slow.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Terrible place for breakfast”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Went to this diner after reading reviews about it on the net. It stated that it was great and great pricing. Well, let me tell you that is NOT true. We went in on a Saturday morning and when we were seated we had to wait a long time before the waitress came over. We were looking for a quick and light breakfast, the prices were outrageously. I asked the waitress for a lighter side menu but they did not have and I asked her if I would be able to order something small from the kids menu and she rudely said no. So I sat there with no breakfast. I would never go back. Very dissapointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“For an ols school diner, you can not go wrong”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

OK, Zak's located in the Byward market. For a old school diner, they never disappoint. Great service and for a diner they do everything cool. Their burgers are decent. And they offer vegetarian options. Try their Garden Burger, it is really good. Eggplant and zucchini with roasted peppers with feta. Really delicious, try their Blue Moon burger as well. If you go for brunch or breakfast, get Eggs Katie, a great blend of potato pancakes with back bacon. If you in a diner mood, go to Zak's.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zak's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Zak's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zak's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.