We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Specialty is the wine and beer selection.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vineyards Wine Bar Bistro

Vineyards Wine Bar Bistro
54 York Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 5T1, Canada (Byward Market Area)
(613) 241-4270
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #287 of 2,215 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Pub, Pizza & Pasta, Bistro, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Byward Market Area
Orillia, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Specialty is the wine and beer selection.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I should start by stating that the food is very good however not great so if you are seeking a memorable meal experience this may not be the best option. Vineyards specialty is an excellent wine and beer selection and a very cosy atmoshpere. I find it a great location to have a private conversation with friends without the noise and commotion of the nearbvy large chain restaurants (TheKeg, Hard Rock Cafe, etc.). If you enjoy seafood, consider it as the main upstairs restaurant specializes in such food. I had an excellent Atlantic salmon meal at only $19.

Space is limited so be prepared to wait a bit prior to be seated on a busy night.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    57
    18
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cosy and charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Awesome place to go for a quiet, cozy night. Great food, great selection of drinks. The staff aren't awesome but they get the job done. Go here on a fall or winter evening, grab a glass of wine and a fruit and cheese plate and hang out for a few hours-its like being at home.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Expensive and food not great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

With a huge variety of restaurants to choose from in this part of town we looked for a varied menu and this seemed to fit the bill. It was very busy (Thursday night) and they only just squeezed us in, warning that food might take 40 mins or so....and it did.

A couple of glasses of ordinary red wine were $34 (+ tax + gratuity), so not a great start.

Then had an argument about what was a medium steak (I rate theirs as well done!). They did however give a $4 rebate on the bill, but it still left a bad taste (literally).

Good atmosphere of 'a London wine bar' and nice decor but far too expensive for what we got (over $100 for single course plus wine)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Extensive (and I mean booklets) beer and wine lists but a rather scant food selection. Bizarre that you have to go the bar to pick up your drinks. Service was very very slow despite it being mid week. I had to send my entre back and order something else as it way overcooked and dry. Surprizing for the high end prices. The waitress made it as right as she could but it was a long evening. But I would agree with the person who mentioned the olive oil dip - YUMMY!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“The olive oil dip is to die for!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Love their "Twelve dollar plate of fries (with side order of steak and salad)". The free olive oil dip with bread slices was so good that we bought two jars to bring home.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vineyards Wine Bar Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Vineyards Wine Bar Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vineyards Wine Bar Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.