We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Indian Food in Ottawa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sitar Restaurant

Sitar Restaurant
417 Rideau St # A, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
(613) 789-7979
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #382 of 2,218 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Indian Food in Ottawa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I love Indian food, I get really excited to try all the different spices and flavours that are found in Indian Cuisine. In Ottawa, I really enjoyed what the Sitar had to offer! The butter chicken is simply fantastic, the naan bread is warm and soft! The aroma of the food itself was simply wonderful! The service was perfect, everyone was nice and welcoming! Really enjoyed the experience, we hope to be back in order to try some of the other dishes!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    18
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing service!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

My brother was always praising Sitar for their delicious food so I decided to order in for my family. They told us it would be ready for so and so time and when we get there they have no clue of the order and made excuses on top. Considering it was for lunch we did actually wait an extra half hour to get the food BUT they gave us three wrong orders. And quite honestly the food could have been a little more fresh and tastier but.......Extremely disappointed for such service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Tried and true....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I have been eating at the Sitar restaurant, in Ottawa, for many years. I believe that if more of its regular customers were aware of this website and knew that the possibility of making a review existed, it would receive very enthusiastic reviews. I can hardly say enough about the unfailingly delicious food, the courteous and warm service, the lovely quietness of the ambience (what a contrast to the terrible level of music one is subjected to in many restaurants). What is also very commendable is that the quality of the food has never declined, the standard of excellence remains the same no matter what external forces (such as construction in the street) may arise. The meals are always beautifully prepared, and demonstrate how subtle this cuisine is when done properly. It would be well, perhaps, if people were not to write reviews on the basis of one experience...It can be misleading.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york,maine
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Pleasant service, nice atmo, lazy food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We go here often because it is convenient and close to nearby art cinema.

Sadly, the kitchen seems to be showing its age and has gotten lazy with dishes. Perhaps this is why it's SO spookily quiet most nights, including weekends. Note to owner: put a little flair in the cooking - lighten up on the heavy sauces, offer fresh vegetable dishes! - and you will have more happy customers.
Food is just OK but could be much better and memorable. Lacking freshness - many of the dishes are heavy on cream and oil.

The waiter is very gracious.

Food lacks sparkle. I hope it improves because the atmosphere is a draw.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Piemonte, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sitar restaurant, Ottawa, ON, Canada.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Nice indian restaurant, with a friendly owner. I ate this summer there, and was very satisfied.

The place was vey quiet (just another family eating there), probably because of massive road work in the street, that does not encourage you to pay a visit.

Good food, not very expensive, with good selection of chicken, meat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sitar Restaurant also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Sitar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sitar Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.