We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Family Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lobster

Red Lobster
1499 St. Laurent Blvd | Ottawa, ON, Ottawa, Ontario K1J 0Z9, Canada
613 744-7560
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #325 of 2,224 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Penetanguishene
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Family Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

A bit pricier than your average family restaurant, buy for seafruit, Red Lobster is still the best place. Service was great and helpful, food was good. I had a steak , not wow but no complaints. Seafruit lovers in our family were pleased with their food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    32
    24
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Placentia, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excllent Service Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have been to red lobster restaurants numerous time in Canada and the US. We have our share of good and bad service as well as great and no so great meals there.

During our last trip to Ottawa in Canada, we visited this restaurant on Merivale Road and we know what to expect. However we have one of the nicest and most helpful and pleasant server. She indeed made our visit so enjoyable that I don't remember the taste of the meal since I was enjoying the whole visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gagetown, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Seafood delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I love seafood of anykind, so I would have to say Red Lobster was very good. I would definately reccommend this restaurant to any one who loves seafood of any kind. The restaurant is well designed and can handle a lot of people.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not Worth the Long Wait”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We waited almost 45 minutes on a Friday evening to get a table at the Red Lobster. Our waiter could not tell us what vegetables were on the vegetarian skewer. His response was "I don't know, they're vegetables, nobody orders it anyway." The shrimp and scallop pasta was terrible due to the fact that the pasta was overcooked to the point of mush. My husband had the eighteen dollar combination dinner, cup of soup, green salad, shrimp skewer and dessert. He enjoyed his meal. The service was absolutely terrible and for this reason I would not return. The only saving grace was the double chocolate brownie dessert which was quite tasty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeverLand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Thing shadow of it's own self”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Came back after a few years: what a change! The entire skillet of mushrooms was smaller then a single mushroom of the past, salad enough just for one spoonfull, veggies microscopic and shrunk, scallops as small as can be.... The biscuits were not even offered. Lobster tale was ok - the only thing they could not shrink. Prices went up too: used to pay about $50-60 for two, this time was $88. Gave a tip though since young waiter was good and was not to blame for the chef's greed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lobster also viewed

 

Been to Red Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lobster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.