We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in an unlikely place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Grill

Pelican Grill
1500 Bank St, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
613 526 5229
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 2,288 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A casual seafood bistro with a fresh fish market attached. We are only interested in serving the freshest fish and seafood we can get!
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food in an unlikely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

They make really good food here, but the strip mall type setting is a little off-putting. It certainly wouldn't prevent me from going back though, as the staff know what they're doing and treat you well.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim F, Owner at Pelican Grill, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
I guess you can't judge a book by its cover. We have been renovating at night for over two months and we are thrilled to be done. In January the outside renos begin and hopefully we will be done by March. Thanks for for your review. We love being the underdog. Cheers, Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    111
    18
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Last night my wife and I had supper at the Pelican Grill. Nice atmosphere but this is not the best restaurant to have a romantic dinner. Very crowded and loud but the service, food and food presentation is right up there with many more expensive restaurants. Overall very nice evening. We will return. Try it out you won't be dissapointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great meal but one disappointment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We have loved this place for years and shop and dine here regularly. We had the lobster supper and arctic char tonight. To our delight we found Grove Mill wine on the list and ordered a bottle. However when we asked to take the leftover wine home, the waiter advised that their license didn't permit this. We were astonished as we have taken leftover wine home from many fine dining restaurants since the law changed to permit it. Left a bad taste in my mouth. I'll try and contact the owner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim F, Owner at Pelican Grill, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and for bringing up a very good topic.
You are correct the law does allow restaurants that choose to, to allow patrons to take home unfinished wine. The program is called Take Home The Rest.
The THTR program was developed to prevent patrons from feeling that they must finish a bottle that they have started. We agree that patrons should feel no pressure to consume and for that reason we have chosen to take another path. We sell every wine on our list by the glass, 1/2 litre and bottle. This allows our guests to order only the amount that they would like.
We feel that the THTR program is well intentioned but that it puts extra responsibility on restaurants and service staff and for that reason we have decided not to participate.
Thank-you for your patronage. Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Plain, simple decor with copper table tops unadorned with table cloth. Service punctual and attentive but a bit diffident. Short menu limited mostly to classic fish dishes, but are they good!! Place also has a fish market that's open during the day, so you can believe their fish is fresh. I had a lobster that tasted better than one I had had last summer on Prince Edward Island! $120 for two including 3 glasses of wine. Restrooms are super, super clean. Only reason I don't give them five stars is that they started sweeping up and placing chairs upside down on other tables before we had finished our meal (and we were not late).

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Love Pelican!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Have eaten here many times, mainly for lunch, and always have a great meal. I love their moules frites (always fresh and never fishy) and the lobster poutine. Don't be fooled by its location in a shopping plaza. It's the best seafood in Ottawa.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pelican Grill also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Pelican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.