We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian Food in the Suburbs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mr B's

Mr B's
2401 Bank St, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
613-731-6800
Improve this listing
Ranked #135 of 2,288 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food in the Suburbs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Bank Street South, near South Keys is home to a small but excellent Italian restaurant. It is located in a strip mall on the east side of Bank Street north of Hunt Club Road. It is a go to place for good food and service if one doesn't want to drive to Little Italy. Last week we were out with friends and wet looking for a place to eat. We could've get a reservation at a couple of other restaurants so we tried and succeeded with Mr. B's. the food was great as we're the portions. After a starter of fried Zuchini I had the Veal Picata and my wife had one of the specials, Lamb Shank. The starter was just so so and I wouldn't recommend it nor the Calamari which we had tried before. On the other hand the Mains were excellent as was the glass of red wine recommended by the server. The Main came with fried potatoes (so so) and an excellent medley of vegetables. We passed on dessert and coffee as we were invited back to our friends Condo for the same. All in all a very pleasant, reasonably priced meal with excellent service. What more can one expect!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    26
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, QC
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Fresh Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Nice little Italian restaurant in a small strip club off Bank Street. Food is always good with fair prices. Staffs are always nice and ready to help out. Food is made from fresh ingredient with a good selection of daily specials. Not necessarily a must-stop but good place to stop by when in the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in Ottawa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is by far one of my favorite restaurants in Ottawa. I have been going to Mr. B's for years and recently switched my diet to gluten free and vegan. When I asked them if they could accommodate, there was not even a one second pause before they said no problem, tell us what you need. Mr. B's goes above and beyond to accommodate their guests with mixing and matching items, with diet restrictions and food allergies. The biggest thing is consistency, the food is always consistent, the service is always consistent and you know it is a good restaurant when there staff turnover is minimal. In addition to this, while working for a not for profit organization, the owners were more than willing to donate to our campaign. Great food, great staff and great community view....what more could you ask for! I LOVE Mr. B's.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Needs a reno badly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Whether it's the out of date and often dirty menu or the dollar store wine glasses, it is clear that this place has fallen behind the times. The food is not as well crafted as it used to be. They appear to be taking their loyal guest base for granted. Time to get back to basics and revisit some of the details that made this place what it is.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Our family recently celebrated a birthday at Mr. B's. We were a total of 10. Service was excellent and the dinner equally so. Mr. B's is a place we have been to often, it has a comfortable feel about it and the quality of food never disappoints. I had calamari fritti - some of the best I have eaten in Ottawa. Crispy, lightly fried and lots. I also had the spicy shrimp - the appetizer. And to my pleasant surprise there were 6 large shrimp on a small bed of rice. It was delicious. I ordered a capuccino to finish the meal - just superb, the right amount of everything and two little cookies rounded off the experience.The rest of the table had a variety of things, and everyone was very happy. This would have been a challenge at a lot of places, but not at Mr. B's. We were vegetarian, carnivores, vegans and one "absolutely no fat" eater. The kitchen accomodated us all. Definitely would go back there.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr B's also viewed

 

Been to Mr B's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr B's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.