We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly right in the market area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mangia - CLOSED

Mangia
121 Clarence St, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 5P5, Canada (Byward Market Area)
(613) 562-4725
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Byward Market Area
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Family friendly right in the market area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

We had dinner on the terrace at Mangia. Our server Maddy was very friendly and accomodating. Out appetizer was incredible, main course was good and the atmosphere was really nice. It was enjoyable sitting outside on a beautiful summer evening, enjoying a nice glass of wine with my family. My girls had the homemade pizza and really enjoyed it. Nice place.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    3
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“never go here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

beer glass from the tap was filled 3 quarters--thats a no no in any place serving alcohol...took them 45 min to bring out a platter that contained 2 slices of procchutio and 2 rolled up pieces of smoked salmon (the cold cuts appetizer) try sharing that with 4 people or even 2 people. main came even later...there was only one other table that was ordering as the place was empty...the owner has no skills...wrong profession for her/her husband

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

I can't even begin to explain how bad our dining experience was at Mangia. Horrible food - cold, barely seasoned...pretty much tasteless. While the service started out good, it ended up being miserable after the server called us immature for not having addressed the fact that our food was bad earlier, and then became extremely argumentative. Just brutal. Don't waste your time. Or money. It's shocking this place is still in business with that kind of service.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very bad food and service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We have dined at Mangia in downtown Ottawa on Sunday, September 18th 2011. All the other restaurants were full, so we were happy to find several empty tables at Mangia. We didn't know why they were empty though!!

The service took very long and was bad.

Very limited menu choices. I have ordered a panini without mayonnaise, but I got it with the mayo! The tuna pizza was minuscule, with 4 chunks of tuna on each slice (4 small slices in total). My husband ordered a beer he never got, and two out of our 4 glasses of water had stayed there empty without the waitress offering extra water.

Going to the bathroom was quite a challenge as well. You had to go downstairs completely in the dark, lots of stairs!

An extremerlu unpleasant experience not to be repeated.

I meant to e-mail the restaurant, but I couldn't finf their e-mail address.

To be avoided!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“This place has gone downhill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Have been here several times in the past, and had always got good, homestyle Italian food at reasonable prices. This time, went with my young son in tow. The place has completely changed from homestyle to bar and lounge. Although they have a kids' menu, they don't seem that interested in serving children (and mine was not causing any issues). The hostess looked totally bored and uninterested when we arrived. We were the first group to arrive for dinner, but it took ages to be served. Tomato salad was bland, despite tomatoes being in season - the chef obviously does not bother buying produce from the Byward Market a few steps away from the restaurant. Paid over $100 for 2 appetizers, 2 mains and a child's pasta - nothing else except my husband had a beer (I had water). NOT good value in the least.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangia also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mangia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.