We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mamma Grazzi's Kitchen

Mamma Grazzi's Kitchen
25 George St., Ottawa, Ontario K1N 8W5, Canada (Byward Market Area)
(613) 241-8656
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #390 of 2,218 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Byward Market Area
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Great bistro atmosphere. Friendly staff. Amazing food. The veal is "to die for". Reminds me of the good restaurants in Italy.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Caynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I've eaten here a couple of times and it's a decent place for a plate of pasta. They make their own homemade pasta and the menu offers a varity of pastas and sauces. It's one of the few places I've eaten pasta in the area, where the tomato sauce is very tasty and not acidy. The bread is fresh and warm and has a sprinkling of oil, corse salt and rosemary. The service is good and prompt. In the summer they set up the tables in the courtyard and it's a very pleasant place to dine.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Habfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We ordered the pizza. It was bland. When we sat ourselves on the patio, that was almost empty, we were asked to move to a different table on the patio. We were not impressed with the service and therefore did not leave a tip.

Helpful?
2 Thank danielle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A mediocher dining experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The food was decidedly average. We started with caesar salads that were heavy on anchovy paste and light enough on the garlic that you wouldn't know it was there. The lettuce was fresh and the dressing decent, it just wasn't really a caesar. My son had one of the stuffed pasta entrees that would have been quite good if some sugar had been added to the tomato sauce, which was otherwise a bit too tart. My wife and I both had pasta with artichokes, sun dried tomatoes and goat cheese. My pasta was slightly undercooked and I would have preferred artichokes that didn't come from a marinated bottle (like the no name cheapies that you buy at the supermarket). The service was fast and very good. I wouldn't go back again, but only because there have to be better choices around at a similar price point.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wahoo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stop after exploring the Market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

After a few hours of touring Parliament Hill and the Market a stop a Mamma Grazzi's was recommended by our guide. Just steps from the bustle of the market this hidden courtyard was a beautiful get away from the traffic. We had a lovely meal and the service was terrific.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Winterpegger59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma Grazzi's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Mamma Grazzi's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing