We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mamma Grazzi's Kitchen

Mamma Grazzi's Kitchen
25 George St., Ottawa, Ontario K1N 8W5, Canada (Byward Market Area)
(613) 241-8656
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #458 of 2,218 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Byward Market Area
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Great bistro atmosphere. Friendly staff. Amazing food. The veal is "to die for". Reminds me of the good restaurants in Italy.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    47
    26
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I've eaten here a couple of times and it's a decent place for a plate of pasta. They make their own homemade pasta and the menu offers a varity of pastas and sauces. It's one of the few places I've eaten pasta in the area, where the tomato sauce is very tasty and not acidy. The bread is fresh and warm and has a sprinkling of oil, corse salt and rosemary. The service is good and prompt. In the summer they set up the tables in the courtyard and it's a very pleasant place to dine.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We ordered the pizza. It was bland. When we sat ourselves on the patio, that was almost empty, we were asked to move to a different table on the patio. We were not impressed with the service and therefore did not leave a tip.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A mediocher dining experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The food was decidedly average. We started with caesar salads that were heavy on anchovy paste and light enough on the garlic that you wouldn't know it was there. The lettuce was fresh and the dressing decent, it just wasn't really a caesar. My son had one of the stuffed pasta entrees that would have been quite good if some sugar had been added to the tomato sauce, which was otherwise a bit too tart. My wife and I both had pasta with artichokes, sun dried tomatoes and goat cheese. My pasta was slightly undercooked and I would have preferred artichokes that didn't come from a marinated bottle (like the no name cheapies that you buy at the supermarket). The service was fast and very good. I wouldn't go back again, but only because there have to be better choices around at a similar price point.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stop after exploring the Market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

After a few hours of touring Parliament Hill and the Market a stop a Mamma Grazzi's was recommended by our guide. Just steps from the bustle of the market this hidden courtyard was a beautiful get away from the traffic. We had a lovely meal and the service was terrific.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma Grazzi's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Mamma Grazzi's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamma Grazzi's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.