We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off night?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Saint-O-Restaurant - CLOSED

Saint-O-Restaurant
327 St Laurent Blvd, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
(613) 749-9703
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ottawa
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Off night?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Have been to this restaurant several times, and have always had a good meal. This last time however, I was left wondering what had happened - and, after looking on line it appears there is a new chef & kitchen staff? I am wondering if the owners (former chef & maitre'd) are perhaps scaling back their involvement?
We had two appetizers - the scallops & the foie gras. My foie gras was actually cool to cold, as though it had been sitting. The scallops were good - but there were only two! The presentation was odd - a long plate with two scallops at one end. And they were not giant scallops either. For that price and that size the appetizer should have had twice as many scallops (and no, read my other reviews, I'm not expecting giant trough portions - just portions that are not so small that it's comical).
Main courses - the duck confit was very good. Veggies, in particular the beets were nice as well. Hubby's filet mignon was undercooked (he asked for medium rare & got rare), and half the cut of meat was tough - to the extent he hid it in his napkin and threw it out when we got home. When I asked him why he did that, he said he didn't want to spoil my night - he should've said something & at least gotten the price reduced or removed.
Dessert was good. Service was friendly and efficient. I used to rave about this place, and have brought family and friends as well. I would probably give it another chance based on past meals, but I'm not in a huge rush to do it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germain B, Owner at Saint-O-Restaurant, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for your constructive and thoughtful review. We certainly do appreciate your criticism and we see this as an opportunity for improvement. We are reviewing the scallop appetizer and will be bringing changes to the menu and processes involving food preparation.

Annie Durand-Brunet
Germain Brunet
Owners - Le Saint-O
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    6
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Vive la France!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I'm not sure that I should be comparing this restaurant to the ones on my last trip to France... the food was great and the staff was even better! We got some good recommendations for the wine pairing and the creme bruler was out of this world! (Next time, I'm not sharing with my wife!) I did feel a bit over crowded but that also brought back some of the European charm. Overall very positive experience and we will return!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Back in France...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My wife and I visited Paris last year for our 10th wedding anniversary...and our most recent visit at Le Saint O "reawakened" some great memories. Our server "Lawrence" is from France and was extremely attentive and professional.

I had Bison and it was so tender it fell off the bone. My wife ordered the duck confit and she had to hold me back from eating hers. A small quaint place for a romantic dinner or catch up with good friends!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My wife and I had supper at the Saint-O last week and we were impressed with the food and the staff. The restaurant it's self is on the smallish very intimate size, the decore brings you back 20 years, this place could be taken right from downtown Paris! All except for the attitude! The price was surprisingly affordable, and we highly recommend the creme bruler!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Great meal, GREAT staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

We had a really great dinner and the staff was extremely nice and very engaging, but in a completely appropriate way. When they sensed we wanted privacy, they kept their distance. But, when we brought them into our conversation, we were like old friends. Highly recommend this restaurant. It may not look like much, but it is REALLY GOOD!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint-O-Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint-O-Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.