We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't wear your nice clothes!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Korea Garden

Korea Garden
470 Rideau St, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
(613) 789-5496
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,369 of 2,149 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Korean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Don't wear your nice clothes!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Your clothes will smell of fry-cooking after you visit this place. The food is not appropriately served -- all persons are charged for all-you-can-eat dishes (we were told this is because all persons have access to them). This isn't a particularly fair or sensible arrangement. One of the guests at the table noticed that we should have been given a complimentary springroll-type of food (as it was listed as part of the dishes). The server's response to this by saying he "guess he would go and get it," but the only reason we got it was because we pointed it out. Also, the sushi rolls were too big to eat in one bite. This was somewhat awkward. However, the rolls were good, as was the deep-fried chicken dish.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    8
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Okay/good food, terrible service!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

So far I've come here twice, both times with friends. I was not particularly enthusiastic about going for a second time due to the shoddy service and just-okay food I recalled from my first visit, but, not one to make a fuss about such things, went along with the other nine members of the group.

We arrived at about 5 o'clock and quickly ordered all-you-can-eat. We waited over 40 minutes for the first of the food - the raw meats - to come, and began grilling. It was another 30 minutes before the sushi arrived (and the restaurant wasn't particularly busy, either). Furthermore, the water around the table-top grills frequently evaporated completely, causing hot oil to occasionally spurt onto the people close by. The servers, when they came, were cold, and did not even stay at the table long enough for us to make requests of them.

That being said, the food was somewhere between okay and good. If the service had been better, the restaurant could have scratched a four-star review... but over an hour for a few rolls of sushi is simply unacceptable, especially when the restaurant isn't even busy!

Would not recommend, and would not (willingly) return.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“$20 Well Spent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

We went here with another couple for their All-You-Can-Eat BBQ, which only set us back $20 per person.
The idea is that there is a hot grill in the middle of your table, and you cook your own meat and veggies. Its a great social idea, good conversation starter. I would recommended only going with people you like, because you will have to cook together!
The menu is fairly straight forward. You order plates of meat (chicken, beef, pork or squid) and plates of veggies. You have to pay extra for plates of shrimp or other seafood (understand that). All your side dishes are included, with unlimited rice bowls.
The meat is already seasoned, and usually someone comes by to help you turn on your grill. I suppose if you've never been to a Korean BBQ before, they would help you a little more, but don't expect them to grill your food for you! You must turn it so it doesnt get burnt, or turn down your heat!
There is also a small selection of AYCE SUSHI on this menu, which we were pleasently surprised by! We ordered some, and it was fresh and delicious, BUT we had so much BBQ, that it sort of took away from the whole Korean thing. I would say if you are wanting AYCE sushi, go to one that specializes in sushi.
The meal also comes with all the traditional Korean side dishes. Don't ask me what half of them are, but I'm adventurous and will always try a bite of each one. You can order unlimited quantities of them, so thats good.
The KIMCHI (fermented cabbage that ALWAYS accompanies Korean food) was very good and very fresh. One of the waiters told us they make it in house (bonus!)
CONS: This AYCE does not include lettuce leaves to wrap your BBQ meat, and rice in. We had to pay a little extra for that.
Also, the service isnt the best, I mean its fairly slow, BUT they are really nice.
We have gone here about 3 times, and will definately go back when the mood strikes again!

  • Visited April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great food, bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

To be fair, our friends showed up 45 minutes late so we were starving by the time they arrived and not in the best of moods. We ordered drinks while we were waiting and it took SEVERAL tries to flag down our waiter. The place was fairly busy, but there was no excuse to be that slow or for the waiters to not even look up when they walk by tables. Anyway, we got the Korean BBQ all-you-can-eat, I think it was $20/person and you can't have ANY leftovers or you will be charged for them. So we ended up being 5 so we got beef, chicken, pork and squid for the BBQ. They were SO good, absolutely mouth-watering and the only reason I'd ever go back. The sushi was sub-par. The soup, which I cannot for the life of me remember what it's called was also really good. Anyway, we had to get creative hiding our sushi leftovers but we didn't get charged. It does feel weird to pay to make your own food, but the marinade of the meats was delicious. So as long as you can put up with bad service, definitely try it out.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“never going back - not even worth ONE star !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

Went there years ago - food and service were great. Went there a few weeks ago... the place has gone totally downhill.

Food was barely edible. Shrimp and scallops were sandy (not cleaned!).

Service? Well it was painfully obvious that our waiter did not want to be there.

No liquour selection at all.

Avoid this place !!!!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Korea Garden also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Korea Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Korea Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.