We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great teppanyaki” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Japanese Village

Japanese Village
170 Laurier Ave W, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5V5, Canada (Byward Market Area)
(613) 236-9519
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #697 of 2,149 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Byward Market Area
Paris, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great teppanyaki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed the experience at this place. While our chef wasn't overly entertaining the food he cooked was outstanding. Definitely will return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    15
    9
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
359 reviews 359 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
452 helpful votes 452 helpful votes
“Needs Renovating and better service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The entire place needs a scrub down and décor update (very dark and dated inside). They are in the basement, but a little paint and updating will go a long way. Seems they are just sucking every penny out. Dinner is not cheap. At one time they would put on an incredible Teppanyaki show with dinner, not anymore. They also no longer serve fried rice with meal as it sticks to the grill...seriously? Sorry for the inconvenience. Off the list.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“This place needs updating”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

After many years, we decided to go to the Japanese Village in Ottawa for a birthday.
It was like going through a time warp! The place hasn't changed one bit except that it has gone down hill.
The décor is in dire need of updating and the entertainment factor has been lost.

Although the food was still good, we all felt like we needed to take a shower after leaving the place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Food good, needs an update”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

After forty years in the same location, it should be noted that this restaurant has staying power! The food is tasty, and the cooking around the teppan table can be a lot of fun if you have a good chef. That said, the restaurant needs an overhaul. From the worn out menus to the ventilation system, things are in need of attention. With all the tables going on a Saturday night, the smoke, steam and grease was thick in the air.
This is a good place for large groups, and kids will be entertained by the cooking show. Now if an update could be done, it would get another star...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Food good, service poor, place needs renos badly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have been going to this restaurant for years because I love the food. After this last time, I will likely not return. The place needs renovations, updated menus, less salt in the sauces, a professional cleaning and a change in attitude of the servers.

We had a new chef who cooked our meals individually which meant that by the time I received my food, the first friend was finished her meal. Usually they cook everything together. Also, one friend had to bring her own soya sauce, due to allergies, and asked the chef to use it on her meal. Either he didn't understand English or chose to ignore her. We had to mention it to him three times and most of her food was cooked without it, so very bland. Suggest they get with the times, and use a different soya sauce, so someone with a gluten free diet can enjoy the great ginger and sesame sauce. This time those sauces were very salty. We had to ask for water and the waitress never came back to offer to refill the glasses.

The ladies washrooms are filthy!!!! The fans above the stovetops are disgusting and I am surprised they have not had a fire, yet!!! The menus need a facelift and have needed this for many years.

Last but not least, we were there on a Thursday night. The four of us spent $150 and after supper when we are sitting and socializing with each other, at 9pm we were told the restaurant was closed and were asked to leave. Nine o'clock on a Thursday night!!!!! This, to me, was the tip of the iceberg. I love the food here, with less salty sauces; have been going here for 30 years but when someone asks me to leave at 9pm on a Thursday night that is the end of it for me. You do NOT ask customers to leave just because you want to get home earlier. This is the restaurant business. If people are sitting around there is a good chance they will order another drink, possibly desert, or whatever.

I was disgusted and shocked by this action and I have never been told to leave because a restaurant was closing at 9pm.

The Japanese village has lost a 30 year customer.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Japanese Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Japanese Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.