We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steak, Great wine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hy's Steak House

Hy's Steak House
170 Queen St, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
+1 613-234-4545
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hy's Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #143 of 2,149 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $51 - $51
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: O'Connor
Description: Perfectly grilled Canadian Prime steaks, cold martinis and warm hospitality. A relaxed, refined atmosphere. You deserve to visit Canada's Premier Steakhouse. We are Hy's, and proud of it, since 1955.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great steak, Great wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Greak steak and wine menu.
Nice location, very cool enviroment. Love the small room inside where you can see them cooking steak.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    29
    30
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overshadowed by Terrible Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I had been very much looking forward to spending my boyfriends birthday at Hy's. I had always heard wonderful things about the mainstay restaurant and had made reservations almost a month in advance.

Upon arrival, the hostess was smiling and gracious and promptly escorted us to our red velvet booth, where she helped us get settled. This was starting out to be a lovely dining experience.
We chatted over the wine list for a while and eventually our server arrived at the table.
He addressed us very shortly while the whole time, leaning against the wall. When he turned to retrieve the cocktail list we had asked for, we also noticed the overwhelming smell of cigarette smoke.

Now I have been in the industry for over ten years, in every job from hostess, to kitchen, to general manager, I understand that sometimes servers need a quick break and can end up a little disheveled. Not the greatest first impression, but I was willing to overlook it, if the service improved.

Unfortunately, throughout the meal, whenever we were graced with our servers presence, his knowledge of the menu was dismal, if I could even be allowed to speak long enough to ask a question or place an order before he turned and walked away. We were not told about the nightly specials. He also continually leaned on the wall when he could be bothered to touch our table, and barely asked, let alone listened, to how we where enjoying our meals.

The food, on the other hand, was delicious, although a little dated. Bravo to the kitchen staff for great execution of a outdated menu.
We both enjoyed the Tuna appetizer and New York strip steaks. The garlic mushrooms were delicious as well, and the portion was much larger than I was expecting.

Overall, we ended up with just a satisfactory experience, sad to say.
It could have easily lived up to expectations, but we both felt as though our server was almost going out of his way to be rude and dismissive of us. Especially when we where watching him give the table next to us much better service.

I will not be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Hy's is wonderful. Excellent food. Excellent service. Excellent décor. We went there hoping for an awesome evening, and we got it. Our server was was terrific. Very attentive. Knowledgeable. Down-to-earth, yet with those touches of dignity and thoughtfulness that you expect from the finest of restaurants. I have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delicious but a bit expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

This is an amazing place for a fancy super. The way they cook there steak is very good, fancy, and creative. The food is a little expensive however very good. I would certainly recommend this place.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My boyfriend and I visit at least once a year. Usually to celebrate a birthday or anniversary. We actually took our son with us the last time we visited, now that he is 15 he can appreciate what fine dining has to offer. I am often surprised that other "families" choose to bring their children so young. In my view until you hit a certain age you cannot appreciate or give the right attitude required to dine in higher end restaurants and wish others would hold the same values. Often you see toddlers or barely 8 year olds at places causing a stir and ruining for people out to escape the children or just trying to enjoy a romantic adult ambiance.
That said aside our son's first fine dining experience with us was like all our previous experiences-AMAZING. Our son has a great palate and love of food-his mom is a chef after all :) and thought the lamb was superior. As per usual my steak was amazing and tender as you expect the filet to be but again as usual cooked to perfection! My boyfriend really enjoyed the porterhouse and the service is ALWAYS amazing. We will be back again for my birthday shortly !!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hy's Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Hy's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hy's Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.