We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Quaint place"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Piggy's

Flying Piggy's
1665 Bank St, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
613-526-4900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #374 of 2,149 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“"Quaint place"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The food is good but next time I would order off the menu rather than one of the specials. I had a bowtie pasta with spinach and white beets but it was bland. My friend ordered a steak and a pea risotto which looked very good. For dessert the lemon tart was just so-so, next time I would try the pecan pie. The service was very good, friendly and quick. We went on a weeknight without reservations and had no problem getting a table, but I would recommend calling ahead of time since its a small restaurant. This place is a nice change from the chain restaurants everywhere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    18
    3
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Went for lunch with group of friends from work. Had a great meal, nice selection of lunch specials to choose from. The pasta I had was quite delicious, everyone else enjoyed their meal as well. Desserts were excellent!

Our server was pleasant, knowledgable and attentive without hovering. Definitely plan to go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Our go-to restaurant in Ottawa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have never been disappointed by Flying Piggies. Excellent food, generous portions (but not too large), terrific ambiance (lots of happy, well-fed folks). Service is hospitable and generally as attentive as you want but they are sometimes stretched a bit thin.

The variously flavoured creme brûlées (different flavour each evening) are always superb and a real highlight of my evening.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Cozy evening out and an enjoyable dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

A cozy restaurant and amiable staff. The parking lot is extremely limited and more parking is not very readily available in the area. We enjoyed our meals and the wine selection wasn't bad (also plenty of availability of wine by the glass).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Flying Piggy's quality has slipped!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We have always treated ourselves to Flying Piggy's for our family birthdays. For a long time this has been a wonderful place. Tonight we were SO disappointed in our meal. My Scallops Con Basil was terrible. The scallops had an awful chemical taste - to the point that I was unable to eat them. The last bite was one that I truly wanted to put into my napkin. I finished less than half the meal. When the owner asked me if I wanted to take the remainder home, I said that I didn't because there was an upleasant taste. She didn't seem to care at all. She just cleared away our dishes and said she would bring the dessert menu. We told her that we would pass on that and to please bring us the bill.
I feel that we have been loyal patrons for over 10 years and I am very disappointed that this owner was not interested in making sure that our experience was positive. I have never complained about a meal in any restaurant, but this one was not edible and I am really, really upset that nobody cared.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Piggy's also viewed

 

Been to Flying Piggy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Piggy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.