We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buzzing atmos; good food and drink” 4 of 5 stars
Review of D'Arcy McGees Irish Pub

D'Arcy McGees Irish Pub
44 Sparks St (At Elgin St), Ottawa, Ontario, Canada (Byward Market Area)
613-230-4433
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #140 of 2,149 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Byward Market Area
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Buzzing atmos; good food and drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Very popular in the early evening. Authentic Canadian Irish experience. Good food and drink selection. Service was quick considering the numbers. One short block away from Parliament area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    122
    58
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Castle Hill, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Classic tradional pub with great atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This place has consistently great food and atmosphere -- The waitresses are nice and friendly too. Have been here many times over the years when I lived in Ottawa. I miss it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lots of atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We just stopped here on whim for a drink. Really interesting nooks and crannies inside. The weather was pleasant so we sat outside. Watching the food go by and looking so good we ended up sharing a vegetarian flat bread which was very tasty. We arrived at 5p.m. and had no problem getting a seat but within a 1/2 hr there wasn't a seat to be ad outside. Waitress was very pleasant and helpful

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A pleasant visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Visited on April 15th with a group of nine and were not disappointed. We arrived at approx. 7:00 p.m. and the restaurant was very busy. Although we arrived with no reservation, we were quickly seated in the lower portion of the restaurant which was much quieter, more accommodating for a larger group and provided a better "conversation" environment.

There is a children's menu - we had an 8 yr. old in our group and our waiter was very attentive to her needs.

The food and service were great - no complaints. Our food choices ranged from fish & chips, to beef/chicken pie and braised lamb shanks. The male members were not disappointed in the beer selection and we ladies were happy with our wine! No one was disappointed.

Had a problem finding the Sparks Street location for my review - only kept coming up with Kanada but eventually found it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooretown, Ontario
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Never a problem here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I've been here many times and have never had an issue with their service, food or beverages.

It can become quite a busy spot especially after working hours but there are plenty of seats but mind you, it might be in a tight location. They have a great selection of beverages and the menu is typical Irish fare but very good. Service has always been great and the servers are very friendly.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D'Arcy McGees Irish Pub also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to D'Arcy McGees Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D'Arcy McGees Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.