We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfied customer!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Social

Social
537 Sussex Dr., Ottawa, Ontario K1N 6Z6, Canada (Byward Market Area)
613-789-7355
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Social is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #290 of 2,149 Restaurants in Ottawa
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Byward Market Area
Cross street: George / York
Transit: There are public transit stops on Rideau street and at the Rideau Center (which is within walking distance).
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Satisfied customer!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Good atmosphere, attentive service and with the food emphasis is on quality and presentation rather than stuffing you full with quantity.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    69
    37
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wow - Good - Always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I go here a lot - Every time I get to Ottawa so maybe 10 times a year - even as staff turn over the place is always consistent in service and quality of food. Yes it is a top dollar meal but it is a very good one. It is a great place to hang out for drinks in the evening, and with a heritage building has a killer atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Referred and planning to go again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Pricey but soooo worth it. I asked two shopkeepers where to go for a nice dinner (I told them I was treating myself and looking to drop ~$30-$50 on the meal) and both referred me to Social. Perfect service, for how pricey it was they did not mind I was in sneakers, jeans and a tank top and treated me just a well as any business-class person ( I also look like I'm 21, but I'm 27). I had the social platter with some wine, and loved everything on my plate. The wine was perfect and I'd like to go back for some wine and cheese before I leave the City! Check it out if you're tired of the same ol' places, like the Keg. My platter came with dishes of tuna, squid, duck tartar, and pigs cheek pasta (a new one for me, very tender and good).

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Excellent food, super friendly staff, nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Had a great dinner (short ribs). Very good service, good food, nice atmosphere. If I'm in Ottawa, I'll come back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Large Group Left Entirely Satisfied”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were a group of about 40 people last weekend and the service was amazing! The servers
kept accurate track of individual bar service and meals with no fuss. They served the meal correctly to the 6 people at our table and it was delicious! I had the pheasant with a sauce and
the potato leek soup to start. It was all so professionally done we were impressed. We will definitely return and maybe try an outside table next time to people watch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Social also viewed

Ottawa, Ontario
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Social? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Social, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.