We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still my favorite restaurant of all time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mezzanotte Cafe

Mezzanotte Cafe
50 Murray, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
613-562-3978
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #273 of 2,215 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“still my favorite restaurant of all time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

LOVE MEZZANOTTE the place that never disapoint me and god knows how picky I am ! Apetizers: We had the risotto ball it was delicious, and some melanzana (stuffed rolled egplants so delicious, in a white wine sauce) I had the pollo Mezzanotte (stuffed chicken with a potato croquette ) The drinks were fabulous we had 6 margaritas, the new lounge section is amazing to relax after your meal, the place looks amazing with the new decor .

This is the place to bring someone and impress them!

For those who complain about the noise, it s not a restaurant for boring people, there is ambiance, the music is not too loud like some claim ... I went at least 10 times since my last review and never got disapointed. Always well served by karol , khalid or Frank and Clayton. I dont understand how some people can be disapointed on the service!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    8
    10
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great pasta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Had lunch at the Mezzanotte Bistro on the Market with work group (10). We all had various pasta dishes and everyone enjoyed them. The portions were very satisfactory for the $. The service was excellent. The drinks were great too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Food & Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Went out for an early dinner (around 5pm) on a Saturday evening. Calimari was delicious, as were our pasta meals. Atmosphere was also very nice. Like other reviewers have said, a tad expensive - but the food is fantastic! The waiter was also very nice as he took the time to give us recommendations and made sure we had a pleasant evening. Will return!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Good food, but somewhat overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Four of us went for dinner on a Friday. The place got busy and a bit loud, which is usual for the youngish crowd that eats there.

The decor is simple: black walls and cieling, and white furniture (comfortable, too).

One of had pecan-crusted veal that had a rather mushy crust. Two had sea bass that they found was greasy. I has pasta with mushrooms, shrimp and scallops, which was very good. Prices were on the high side, particularly for the wines. The special of the day was a filet of beef at $44. Yikes!

Service was attentive and informative.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“one of my favorite in ottawa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Mezzanotte is one of the best restaurants in Ottawa in my opinion, the decor is amazing, the new patio section is very nice. And for the food, excellent. The Melanzana (stuffed eggplants) is a favorite for me , too many good things to name them . The servers are the best . I always have a good time at Mezzanotte , it is certainly not a boring place. As for the drinks, last time I went I had 6 margaritas, that tells you how good they were! Overall , you can t be disapointed!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mezzanotte Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Mezzanotte Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mezzanotte Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.