We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flavourful, heart warming food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ceylonta Restaurant

Ceylonta Restaurant
403 Somerset St W, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2P5, Canada
(613) 237-7812
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #261 of 2,215 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Indian, Sri Lankan
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Gatineau, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Flavourful, heart warming food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

If you are not seasonned enough to order plates in an Indian food restaurant, Ceylonta is the place to go! They offer what I consider the best Fix-price Group Diner in Ottawa. For 25$/person, you and your guests will indulge in a Sri Lankan feast comprised of a mix of appetizers (Mutton Roll, Ulunthu Vadal, Kadalai Vadai and vegetable Samosa), followed by Devilled & Curried Dishes ( Chicken, Shrimps and vegetables curried Thali), basmati and vegetable rice, roast beef and Tandori Chicken, than Kothu Dishes! I can assure you that at the end, you will be so filled that you won't almost be able to move, hihihi.

Service might be a bit slow, so don't get there if you are in a hurry but the beautiful smile of Tamara, server, will make you forget all the little inconviences. Reservation recommended.

An evening to renew many time!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    28
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taiwan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“authentic and hearty flavors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We've been to Ceylonta Restaurant a couple times and always liked their buffet there. This time we decided to go to another location: 2920 Carling Ave. Ottawa, ON (613) 828-7812
It was very satisfying. They offered weekend brunch, which was a very delicious dosa, fresh and crispy. I loved the soup of the day, (that day, anyway) Tamarind Rasam, I just wanted to go back for more.
The staff was friendly & efficient. It is a small restaurant with very cozy decor & a peaceful atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Authentic but not for all dishes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I've had the chance to try almost all their dishes through out the year. I've found the taste to be unique when compared to other south asian restaurants in the city. Ottawa is mostly occupied with north indian style serving restaurants and Ceylonta isn't among one of them. It's Sri Lankan cuisine and most of the dishes I've ordered had the aroma and taste you would expect to find coming from that region. The samosas and mutton rolls were quite good as well as their biryani, which had a chicken drumstick and egg topped on…a nice addition. Their chicken and mutton curry however, I'm not a fan. It tasted more like soup or stew rather than a rich thick sauce that most curries tend to deliver. Kothu rotti wasn't too bad, though it was a little stringy. I have mixed feelings about their cuisine and I feel as though not everyone may find the taste suiting. However, I'm not discouraging anyone to go out and try Ceylonta. Give them a try and see for your self if you are the type of person that is accustomed to the usual north indian cuisine thats filled the entire city.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Limited selection with only some good dishes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

To be fair the dishes that were good were very good however sadly the nan was dry and tasteless, the tandori chicken dry etc... The sag paneer was superb and incredibly creamy the curries were nice and the somosas were spicy and delicious.

The service is inconsistent but always friendly and the decor is dated and boring but functional

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Just the best Curry !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Sri Lankan curry house of the highest order. Forget what it looks like from the outside it is the best curry I have ever had - nuff said

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ceylonta Restaurant also viewed

Ottawa, Ontario
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Ceylonta Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ceylonta Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.