We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food, slow service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Cactus Bar & Grill

Blue Cactus Bar & Grill
2 Sq Byward Market | Ontario, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 7A1, Canada (Byward Market Area)
+1 613-241-7061
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #833 of 2,149 Restaurants in Ottawa
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Contemporary, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Byward Market Area
Cross street: Clarence Street
Transit: Transit stops in surrounding area.
Holmdel, New Jersey
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Average food, slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is the first time we are here on Byward market and here in Ottawa since 1983. It's Saturday night, after we walked for 30 mins, we found the price here were reasonable and no waiting. The seating was good, next to a open windows watching the sidewalk. The food portion was large but the taste just slightly above average, we had the beef poutine ,seared tuna sandwich, chicken chimichanga, and burger for my son. Our female wait staff looks like she is having a long day ( it's about 8:45 pm ) and the food came little slow. She only fill our water when we requested and asked how is the food when we almost finish. I guest those black mini skirt (Blue cactus's uniform ) and pointed black shoes are killing her feet. There are plenty of other restaurants in this area and will not return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ida F, Owner at Blue Cactus Bar & Grill, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Castle 88,
I was sorry to read that the service you received with us was slow and you found the taste of your food average. We strive for excellent service, food quality and atmosphere. Unfortunately, we did not attain our goals during your visit.
I hope you enjoyed your stay in Ottawa, and hope you can visit again soon!
Regards,
Ida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    74
    78
    55
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bonne Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I had lunch at the Blue Cactus early July, 2014. I started with a cocktail... they had monthly specials so I left it up to my server, Eric, to choose one. He made a great choice -- so yummy!! I had the Smoked Tomato Bisque and a Quinoa salad for lunch, both of which were absolutely delicious. Several of the servers came to my table to bring water and bread. All of them were great. Eric was my main server and I couldn't have asked for better service. Would definitely recommend this restaurant and will go back there when I'm in Ottawa again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ida F, Owner at Blue Cactus Bar & Grill, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear 13Sharon,
Thank you very much for choosing to have lunch at Blue Cactus....and for sharing your remarks on Trip Advisor. I will definitely share your remarks with our team and specifically Eric.
I hope you enjoyed your stay in Ottawa and look forward to seeing you next time you visit.
With Best Regards,
Ida Firestone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Service and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

A group of us (22) ventured to this restaurant Monday afternoon to celebrate an event. We were served promptly and with a smile. Every one liked what they ordered and every plate was served warm which can be a challenge for a large group. Kudos to the kitchen folks and the servers.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ida F, Owner at Blue Cactus Bar & Grill, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Eric M,
Thank you very much for allowing us to host your group at Blue Cactus and for sharing your wonderful remarks on Trip Advisor. I will certainly forward your comments to our kitchen and serving staff.
We hope to have you as our guest again soon, perhaps celebrating another event, or just a casual evening out.
Sincere thanks once again....
Regards,
Ida Firestone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We randomly stopped in here on canada day. They were able to accommodate approximately 16 of us. The food was great. They were prompt and very attentive.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ida F, Owner at Blue Cactus Bar & Grill, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear East Coast 1979,
Thanks very much for choosing to dine with us at Blue Cactus on Canada Day and for sharing your remarks regarding your experience. I was pleased to read that we were able to accommodate your large group on such a busy day and that we reached our goals with regard to the food and service!
I hope you enjoyed our beautiful city over Canada Day, and we hope to have you visit us again soon!
With Best Regards,
Ida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Horrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Food here is mediocre at best, but worse than the food is the service. Wait staff ignored us for so long we thought they forgot we were there. She finally brought over menus, disappeared again for 15 min when she came back with water and took our drink orders. We knew it would be a long wait before she came back so we placed our food orders right away she brought us our drinks and we didn't see her until our food came. There was no checking to see if we needed anything else to drink how our food was, nothing. We were the only table in her section no one else around so can't say it was busy just poor service. Would not return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ida F, Owner at Blue Cactus Bar & Grill, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Liz t,
I sincerely apologize to you for the poor experience you had while at Blue Cactus. There is no excuse for this. We continually emphasize the importance of excellent service and food quality to all staff.
If you have a few moments, please contact me directly at ida@bluecactusbarandgrill.com so I may apologize to you directly and perhaps gain some information to determine who your server was. I hope to rectify the situation in any manner possible.
Again, my most sincere apologies. I hope to hear from you soon.
Sincerely,
Ida Firestone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Cactus Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Blue Cactus Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Cactus Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.