We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to standard” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stardust Motel

Save Saved
You added Stardust Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Stardust Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2965 Carling Avenue, Ottawa, Ontario K2B 7J9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 66 hotels in Ottawa
listowel on
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not up to standard”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a short notice trip to Ottawa for a family member funeral and stayed at the Stardust Motel because of location. I must say it is very run down and outdated not really worth 80.00 a night but at least they did not charge extra for parking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
2
5
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

I'm a university student. I don't exactly have high standards, but when there's pubes in the toilet and the shower head is literally the end of a pipe sticking out of the wall (really!), I can't help but raise my eyebrows a bit. I really can't believe they wanted $80 for that room. It smelled funny, there were cigarette burns in all the textiles, there was no air conditioning or heater...I could go on. Save yourself some time and skip over this place. Drive up the street to Webb's Motel, its much nicer.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Stardust Motel while visiting Ottawa for a wedding. The motel staff were very helpful. The rates were very affordable and within our price range. Our room was clean and the motel was very conveniently located allowing us access to many conveniencies. I would definitely recommend this motel if you are in the Ottawa area.

  • Liked — clean and comfortable accomodations
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2007

I stayed a this Motel in July 2007. Do not recommend. This place is providing accommodation to people on welfare.

After I checked in there were small naked children running around in the parking lot where guests were driving in and out of. Lucky no one was run over.

I asked the desk clerk what was going on. He said the owner has an arrangement with social services to house new immigrants.

I demanded my money back. They complied.

It looks like they don't put in a very good effort to clean the rooms either. They're dusty and smelly.

I recommend spending an extra 20 bucks to get a better room.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The other guests.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stardust Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stardust Motel

Address: 2965 Carling Avenue, Ottawa, Ontario K2B 7J9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 66 hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stardust Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Stardust Motel Ottawa, located at 2965 Carling Avenue in Ottawa's west end. We offer reasonably priced rooms that are far less expensive than downtown hotels. All rooms are clean, come air-conditioned; with colour cable television, microwaves, free local calls and free parking in front of room. Some units come with kitchenettes including fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Stardust Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stardust Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.